Asus Z77 Series Information Thread (drivers, BIOSes, overclocking, reviews) **UPDATED 4/22** - Page 24 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #231 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 03:18 PM
rp1
333mhz
 
rp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
well, I thought that the annoying cold boot issues would be solved with the p8z77-v - which initially seemed to work just fine - but it has started yet again. not so bad like with my previous P8P67, but still not the way it should be.

currently the latest beta bios is installed (ver 1050), but it did the same with 0906.

system components:

2500k @ 4.7 (offset +0.035), load vcore 1.4V (cooling: TRU120E, highest temps under load don´t reach 70°C)
mushkin redline 1600 MHz 2x2 GB 6-8-6-24 @ 1.65V
PLL set to 1.7V
internal PLL auto (will try enabled)

the system is stable (prime, occt, no random bsods or alike)

any suggestions?
rp1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #232 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 03:26 PM
Overclocker
 
ChaosAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Just recieved my gene v and 3770k. So i installed cpu, ram, psu and my old intel ssd and i all i get is a q-code A2. I plugged the monitor through a displayport to dvi adapter. I dont get any signal though to get into bios. Any ideas cause im lost here.

2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

ChaosAD is offline  
post #233 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 03:52 PM
It's so cold in the D
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lake Orion MI.
Posts: 10,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosAD View Post

Just recieved my gene v and 3770k. So i installed cpu, ram, psu and my old intel ssd and i all i get is a q-code A2. I plugged the monitor through a displayport to dvi adapter. I dont get any signal though to get into bios. Any ideas cause im lost here.
Start out using the onboard HDMI if you can, then update to the latest BIOS and load optimized defaults.
Seems the Gene has a hard time seeing GPU's on the first boot.
NoGuru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #234 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 06:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dave1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Need some help guys. I would like to try out the Lucid MVP but then I can't seem to install the driver for the VGA. Do note that I have installed windows with my GPU on so do I need to remove my GPU first to be able to install the VGA driver or do I need to reinstall my windows while the GPU is removed?
dave1991 is online now  
post #235 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 08:19 PM
 
Teiji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1991 View Post

Need some help guys. I would like to try out the Lucid MVP but then I can't seem to install the driver for the VGA. Do note that I have installed windows with my GPU on so do I need to remove my GPU first to be able to install the VGA driver or do I need to reinstall my windows while the GPU is removed?
I think I read somewhere here that you need to plug your monitor into the onboard graphic. Then enable onboard graphic in the BIOS. Then you will finally be able to install the onboard graphic drivers. Don't quote me on this. I haven't done this and don't plan to use onboard graphic or Lucid Virtu.

Teiji is offline  
post #236 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 10:01 PM
 
Futzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Trying to get my build up and running today and find out that almost none of the Asus provided drivers (from their website) support W8 :/

Futzy is offline  
post #237 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 10:14 PM - Thread Starter
Bottleneck? What bottleneck?
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 6,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futzy View Post

Trying to get my build up and running today and find out that almost none of the Asus provided drivers (from their website) support W8 :/

Most, if not all, Windows 7 drivers should work on Windows 8. Intel has a special set for the Intel IGP. I didn't include that in the OP as it seems like not many people are using Windows 8.

"Just because you are a character doesn't mean that you have character." —The Wolf from Pulp Fiction
SimpleTech is offline  
post #238 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 10:29 PM
 
Futzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTech View Post

Most, if not all, Windows 7 drivers should work on Windows 8. Intel has a special set for the Intel IGP. I didn't include that in the OP as it seems like not many people are using Windows 8.

All of their installers perform a version check and do not recognize the OS.

Futzy is offline  
post #239 of 1288 Old 05-31-2012, 12:29 AM
Overclocker
 
ChaosAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoGuru View Post

Start out using the onboard HDMI if you can, then update to the latest BIOS and load optimized defaults.
Seems the Gene has a hard time seeing GPU's on the first boot.

So do you think the main problem is the dispalyport to dvi connection? Because the q-code A2 shows something like IDE problem, dont remember exactly. I think i ll have to wait for my 670 then, today or tomorrow hopefully if there is no way around mad.gif

2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

ChaosAD is offline  
post #240 of 1288 Old 05-31-2012, 01:44 AM
333mhz
 
lothar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rp1 View Post

well, I thought that the annoying cold boot issues would be solved with the p8z77-v - which initially seemed to work just fine - but it has started yet again. not so bad like with my previous P8P67, but still not the way it should be.
currently the latest beta bios is installed (ver 1050), but it did the same with 0906.
system components:
2500k @ 4.7 (offset +0.035), load vcore 1.4V (cooling: TRU120E, highest temps under load don´t reach 70°C)
mushkin redline 1600 MHz 2x2 GB 6-8-6-24 @ 1.65V
PLL set to 1.7V
internal PLL auto (will try enabled)
the system is stable (prime, occt, no random bsods or alike)
any suggestions?
I had the same problems... cold boot at idle... I think the problem lies in not mature BIOS and his Auto memory timings...
Go to last option in BIOS, something like ASUS SPD Information and write down all SPD settings and enter it manually
I noticed another strange thing...
Memory REF Voltages arent set to 0.50 on Auto, my Corsair Dominator 2133 doesnt even boot when I leave it on Auto
... You have to set it to 0.50 manually
lothar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off