Asus Z77 Series Information Thread (drivers, BIOSes, overclocking, reviews) **UPDATED 4/22** - Page 4 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1288 Old 04-30-2012, 05:58 PM
It's so cold in the D
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lake Orion MI.
Posts: 10,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 769
Send a message via Yahoo to NoGuru
Just put the 2500K in the Gene and it booted fine. Updated the BIOS on the Z68Xp to the latest and put the 3770K in and no booty. Die CPU DIE! biggrin.gif
NoGuru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1288 Old 04-30-2012, 06:17 PM
PC Gamer / Overclocker
 
Exostenza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 4,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoGuru View Post

Just put the 2500K in the Gene and it booted fine. Updated the BIOS on the Z68Xp to the latest and put the 3770K in and no booty. Die CPU DIE! biggrin.gif

Did you clear the CMOS before putting the 3770k in there?

I'm on my 31st GPU!

Desktop GPUs: ATi Rage -> ATi Rage 128 -> VooDoo 2 -> Geforce 2MX -> Geforce 3 -> ATi 9200 -> ATi 9800 Pro -> Geforce 6600 GT -> Geforce 6800 GT -> Geforce 7800 GT -> ATi 1900 XTX -> nVidia 8800 GTX -> nVidia GTX 275 -> ATi 5870 -> AMD 6950 Unlocked -> AMD 7950 -> nVidia 1070 Ti
Laptop GPUs: ATi 9200m -> nVidia 9800m GS -> ATi 3870mx2 -> GTX 870m -> GTX 970m -> GTX 980m
Netbook GPUs: nVidia 9200 ion -> AMD 6310
Secondary Rig GPUs: nVidia 8800 GTS -> nVidia GTX 260 -> ATi 5870 -> AMD 6950 -> AMD 6970
Smart Phones: Samsung Galaxy S -> HTC Evo 3D -> Samsung Galaxy Nexus -> LG Nexus 5 -> Huawei Nexus 6P
Tablets: Asus Nexus 7 2012 -> Asus Nexus 7 2013
Exostenza is offline  
post #33 of 1288 Old 04-30-2012, 06:37 PM
It's so cold in the D
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lake Orion MI.
Posts: 10,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 769
Send a message via Yahoo to NoGuru
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exostenza View Post

Did you clear the CMOS before putting the 3770k in there?

Yep. This BIOS even recognized it but as soon as you go to boot...nothing. It's the chip for sure, I have done every test known to man.
NoGuru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 1288 Old 05-01-2012, 11:35 PM
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exostenza View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by samwiches View Post

^Sorry to hear about that chip. Return it?
I just installed a 3770K on a P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3, but that board was up for sale and just found a buyer the day I got the chip, so now I need a board.
If I want to be back up today it looks like I have to go to Fry's and choose from the Sabertooth, P8Z77-V, or Z77-V Pro (or some MSI boards I've never heard of).
What is the Sabertooth intended for? It's got 8+4(+2) power phases and costs $20 more than the Z77 Pro which is 12+4 phase. I have no use for onboard devices, ports or whatever. I just want OC options. Go with the Pro, or is there more to the Sabertooth that I'm not seeing?

Sabertooth is for people who want extra tough components for longevity. I did some research and as a gamer and OCer the Sabertooth is not a very good board. The Pro has better voltage regulation (better for overclocking) and has better memory support (again better for overclocking). For the regular OCN overclocker it looks like the Asus P8Z77-V Pro board is the best choice and that is why I bough it. thumb.gif

Couldn't find any deals on a Maximus V so I got P8Z77-V Pro.

I had four of the Z68's so I should be tired of these, but it's got lots more power options to look at.

That reminds me, with the 3770K there is no place to find the output watts under monitoring software anymore. It was the same on the Z68, so maybe there needs to be a BIOS update. (Or what is needed?)

244
samwiches is offline  
post #35 of 1288 Old 05-02-2012, 12:16 AM - Thread Starter
Bottleneck? What bottleneck?
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 6,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Try the latest version of HWiNFO64.

"Just because you are a character doesn't mean that you have character." —The Wolf from Pulp Fiction
SimpleTech is offline  
post #36 of 1288 Old 05-02-2012, 12:42 AM
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
700

Thanks.

I'm not sure what to make of that reading. It's about as high as the 2500K that I had.
samwiches is offline  
post #37 of 1288 Old 05-02-2012, 12:52 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exostenza View Post

Sabertooth is for people who want extra tough components for longevity. I did some research and as a gamer and OCer the Sabertooth is not a very good board. The Pro has better voltage regulation (better for overclocking) and has better memory support (again better for overclocking). For the regular OCN overclocker it looks like the Asus P8Z77-V Pro board is the best choice and that is why I bough it. thumb.gif

Doubt it, the Sabertooth has better quallity phase array.
psyside is offline  
post #38 of 1288 Old 05-02-2012, 01:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 7,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 519
For the love of god I am about to toss this Maximus V Gene out the window. What is the major malfunction with Asus and detecting a freaking USB keyboard on startup? Tried two different keyboards and only 1 USB port out of them all registers it. The huge issue is tjat when I press CTR I to get into the RAID config nothing happens. No matter how fast I press the keys it just blows right past the screen which only flashes for a second.

Using BIOS 0701, is this stuff ever tested? So here I sit unable to set up RAID and install Windows. The keyboard works in the BIOS but my mouse doesn't no matter which usb port. On my RIVE they both work fine and I could use them in the BIOS. So what voodoo majic do I need to perform in order to get into the RAID config?

CallsignVega is online now  
post #39 of 1288 Old 05-02-2012, 02:07 AM
PC Gamer / Overclocker
 
Exostenza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 4,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by psyside View Post

Doubt it, the Sabertooth has better quallity phase array.

Sabertooth is 8+4 power phase while pro is 12+8 power phase design.

An Asus rep said the sabertooth uses the TUF design made for longevity through quality of parts, but for overclockers the Pro is better and will last anyone as long as they need the motherboard for. Sabertooth has a 5 year warranty for people who want to make sure the mobo will last, but is completely unneeded for regular overclockers on OCN imo.

I'm on my 31st GPU!

Desktop GPUs: ATi Rage -> ATi Rage 128 -> VooDoo 2 -> Geforce 2MX -> Geforce 3 -> ATi 9200 -> ATi 9800 Pro -> Geforce 6600 GT -> Geforce 6800 GT -> Geforce 7800 GT -> ATi 1900 XTX -> nVidia 8800 GTX -> nVidia GTX 275 -> ATi 5870 -> AMD 6950 Unlocked -> AMD 7950 -> nVidia 1070 Ti
Laptop GPUs: ATi 9200m -> nVidia 9800m GS -> ATi 3870mx2 -> GTX 870m -> GTX 970m -> GTX 980m
Netbook GPUs: nVidia 9200 ion -> AMD 6310
Secondary Rig GPUs: nVidia 8800 GTS -> nVidia GTX 260 -> ATi 5870 -> AMD 6950 -> AMD 6970
Smart Phones: Samsung Galaxy S -> HTC Evo 3D -> Samsung Galaxy Nexus -> LG Nexus 5 -> Huawei Nexus 6P
Tablets: Asus Nexus 7 2012 -> Asus Nexus 7 2013
Exostenza is offline  
post #40 of 1288 Old 05-02-2012, 04:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 7,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallsignVega View Post

For the love of god I am about to toss this Maximus V Gene out the window. What is the major malfunction with Asus and detecting a freaking USB keyboard on startup? Tried two different keyboards and only 1 USB port out of them all registers it. The huge issue is tjat when I press CTR I to get into the RAID config nothing happens. No matter how fast I press the keys it just blows right past the screen which only flashes for a second.
Using BIOS 0701, is this stuff ever tested? So here I sit unable to set up RAID and install Windows. The keyboard works in the BIOS but my mouse doesn't no matter which usb port. On my RIVE they both work fine and I could use them in the BIOS. So what voodoo majic do I need to perform in order to get into the RAID config?

UPDATE:

Just used BIOS 0881 and it still won't let me into RAID config menu.

Here is a video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E2jWXAemG-A&feature=youtu.be


As you can see keyboard is working as expected, let's me pause at the raid screen so you know the computer is taking keyboard commands. Yet CTR I does nothing. This problem is just silly but extremely annoying as it's a show-stopper for my new build. If anyone else could test this...

I must be missing the ROG RAID edition keyboard with the special raid config menu key.. frown.gif

Tried every M5G BIOS in this thread, still cannot get into RAID config. After 5 hours or working on this, time for bed, ASUS has me beat! The only thing I can logically conclude is that the ASUS BIOS people set the RAID config to flash so quickly in order to speed up boot time (it's literally up for less than a second), that it won't register keystrokes no matter how fast you do them.

It will be really sad if I have to put together my disssasembled X79 setup just to create a new RAID volume on my Vertex 4's to use with the M5G.

CallsignVega is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off