[Official] MSI Z77A Owners/Discussion/Information/Support Thread and Club (GD65, GD55, G45, ...) - Page 9 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #81 of 696 Old 05-29-2012, 11:05 AM
 
xPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonsamus View Post

During idle the multiplier stays at 45. I use real temp to see the amount of load and CPU speed. Using CPU z shows its at 45 as well. For voltage, CPU z shows its less than 1.29. It'll be somewhere around 1.28.
I'll check the voltage tonight on idle and load (with prime95) and tell you what voltage is at.

dragonsamus that is what I thought it is going to be and that is a problem which more and more departs me from buying the MSI Z77A-GD65. Lack of offset option with CPU voltage is a big minus for this board.

But thanks for answer. thumb.gif

xPhoto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #82 of 696 Old 05-29-2012, 11:30 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
dragonsamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by xPhoto View Post

dragonsamus that is what I thought it is going to be and that is a problem which more and more departs me from buying the MSI Z77A-GD65. Lack of offset option with CPU voltage is a big minus for this board.
But thanks for answer. thumb.gif

I use the g45 board and there is a CPU offset option. I'm just not sure how to configure it.

Intel i5 2500K|Hyper 212 Plus|MSI Z77A-G45|Gigabyte Windforce 670|Corsair Vengeance 8GB|Antec EarthWatts 650 Green|NZXT Phantom 410|WD Black Caviar 1TB|Crucial M4 256GB
dragonsamus is offline  
post #83 of 696 Old 05-29-2012, 12:35 PM
Amiga 500
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 191
xphoto i just ramp up the vdoop setting to +100% and it increases load volatge while keeping the speedstep function enabled.

lets me run 4.4ghz turbo and 1.6ghz idle smile.gif
marsey99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #84 of 696 Old 05-29-2012, 12:36 PM
 
xPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonsamus View Post

I use the g45 board and there is a CPU offset option. I'm just not sure how to configure it.

What you can choose under that option, some voltage value (+0.015V or -0.020V...) or something like Level 1 or +25%, +50%....?
You probable thinking on "Vdroop offset control" which it is not same as Vcore (CPU voltage) offset.

xPhoto is offline  
post #85 of 696 Old 05-29-2012, 12:48 PM
 
xPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsey99 View Post

xphoto i just ramp up the vdoop setting to +100% and it increases load volatge while keeping the speedstep function enabled.
lets me run 4.4ghz turbo and 1.6ghz idle smile.gif

I understand but that is quite restricted in range where you can go with voltage, and outcome in terms what will you get is quite unknown before you check with CPU-Z or on Voltage check points with multimeter.

xPhoto is offline  
post #86 of 696 Old 05-29-2012, 01:41 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
dragonsamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by xPhoto View Post

What you can choose under that option, some voltage value (+0.015V or -0.020V...) or something like Level 1 or +25%, +50%....?
You probable thinking on "Vdroop offset control" which it is not same as Vcore (CPU voltage) offset.

Its like -.85, -.25, 0, +.25, +.85. Don't quote me. I'll tell you for sure what it says tonight.

Intel i5 2500K|Hyper 212 Plus|MSI Z77A-G45|Gigabyte Windforce 670|Corsair Vengeance 8GB|Antec EarthWatts 650 Green|NZXT Phantom 410|WD Black Caviar 1TB|Crucial M4 256GB
dragonsamus is offline  
post #87 of 696 Old 05-29-2012, 08:37 PM
 
DaMiTzLiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey, stupid question: what button do i press to access the bios when booting up? The msi splash goes by too fast for me to catch :/ I have a GD55
And also is the Live Update 5 worth downloading?

DaMiTzLiN is offline  
post #88 of 696 Old 05-29-2012, 08:40 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
dragonsamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaMiTzLiN View Post

Hey, stupid question: what button do i press to access the bios when booting up? The msi splash goes by too fast for me to catch :/ I have a GD55
And also is the Live Update 5 worth downloading?

Hit the delete button.

Intel i5 2500K|Hyper 212 Plus|MSI Z77A-G45|Gigabyte Windforce 670|Corsair Vengeance 8GB|Antec EarthWatts 650 Green|NZXT Phantom 410|WD Black Caviar 1TB|Crucial M4 256GB
dragonsamus is offline  
post #89 of 696 Old 05-29-2012, 09:02 PM
 
DaMiTzLiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonsamus View Post

Hit the delete button.
Thanks!

DaMiTzLiN is offline  
post #90 of 696 Old 05-29-2012, 10:20 PM
nVidia Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Be interested to see "temps" over a 20 min period off PRIME (No longer) .... And your Voltages appear to be fine,"Dragonsamus".. your voltages seem fine for an OC of 4.5Ghz on that G45 MSI Board.

Both the G45 and GD55 are both fab value boards. Ive bought the G45 for another Build with 2500K which I bought 2x 2500K CPU's NEW Cheap online in the UK. I'm pondering whether or not to buy another GD55 or the GD65 Board.

Is it worth the extra to purchase the heavily honored and 5 star decorated GD65 Board over here in (Scotland UK.) and other parts of the UK too..

The GD65 is well respected, over the GD55 (I know most of the advantages..).

However, would love to hear something from the rest of the members in the room... WHATZ UR OPINION ON THE GD65 motherboard folks, I ask you lot.???

Thanks for all your help in advance... if you have any advice to offer.. please post your opinions. cheers!smile.gifthumb.gifsmile.gif

Where-ever there's Watch, there's a Watchmaker, where-ever there's a creation there's a Creator... thumb.gif
Geekerdom is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off