P5B or 965 S3 w/ 2x1 ddr667 crucial memory - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-12-2006, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter
 
splat00n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Which set will work better? I will be putting this together with a e6300.

splat00n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-12-2006, 03:38 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
dannyyboii is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-12-2006, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
 
splat00n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyyboii View Post
P5b
So P5B will work fine then for overclocking and that memory?

note: not the deluxe version.

splat00n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 11-12-2006, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
 
splat00n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
so what motherboard any of you other think I should get?

splat00n is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-12-2006, 04:13 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Gigabyte 965P S3, because it doesn't have a major droop on Vcore and Vdimm like the P5B boards do including P5B-D.
ckp64 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-12-2006, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
 
splat00n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
what about a BFG w/ new 600 chipset? They have em in stock..

splat00n is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-13-2006, 05:10 AM
333mhz
 
steelballzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
i have a pb5 regular....got my 6600 at 4 ghz....445 fsb.....very easy

but
i have vmoded the board
the original vdimm only goes to 2,1 and the vcore drop is terrible


with the vmods i can have vcore rock solid and the vdimm i adjusted to 2,55 in case i have 2,1 in bios or 2,3 if i have 1,8

clockgen doesnt work....neither setfsb

if u plan to overclock only....its a very good budget solution and the vmods are quite simple to do.......if you intend to have extra features go for the pb5 deluxe......
gygacra....byte usually have a high rma rate......

pb5 normal is a good board ...for the price....but its not amazing

steelballzz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off