Gigabyte p965 boards to power on,off,on? - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 24 Old 11-13-2006, 01:19 PM
4.0ghz
 
Witchfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: near Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 1,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I've had the same experience Krunk has. Only when I reboot after a significant change in the BIOS does the power cycle on-off-on. Any other time I power my rig on for a cold boot it simply powers up... no cycling.

Is it possible you are using one of the automatic overclocking options in the BIOS? There's a possibility that the automatic overclocking in the board triggers the power cycling.

This isn't something I'm sure of, just a thought.

Some people live on this earth to do great things... Unfortunately, most are here simply because it's illegal to kill them.

12,277 in 3DMark06 on a mostly secondhand budget rig rolleyes.gif
Witchfire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 24 Old 11-13-2006, 05:11 PM
Commodore 64
 
Badgerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I feel like my board is missing something. I installed it, updated the BIOS and played around with overclocking a dozen times and it's never restarted like you mention. ON, OFF, ON.

Badgerman is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 11-13-2006, 08:11 PM
4.0ghz
 
Witchfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: near Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 1,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badgerman View Post
I feel like my board is missing something. I installed it, updated the BIOS and played around with overclocking a dozen times and it's never restarted like you mention. ON, OFF, ON.
The board in your specs is a 955 chipset board... It looks like this is behavior linked to the 975X and 965P chipsets.

Some people live on this earth to do great things... Unfortunately, most are here simply because it's illegal to kill them.

12,277 in 3DMark06 on a mostly secondhand budget rig rolleyes.gif
Witchfire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 24 Old 11-13-2006, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
golf1410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Maybe U guy miss understand
My meaning is "
My computer will be ON OFF ON every time when i unplugged my computer out from the main.But if i keep power plugged in to the main, It will power on normally. NO ON OFF ON It happen after i update BIOS to version F7, before that it worked normally."
golf1410 is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 11-13-2006, 08:34 PM
4.0ghz
 
Witchfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: near Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 1,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by golf1410 View Post
Maybe U guy miss understand
My meaning is "
My computer will be ON OFF ON every time when i unplugged my computer out from the main.But if i keep power plugged in to the main, It will power on normally. NO ON OFF ON It happen after i update BIOS to version F7, before that it worked normally."
Then don't unplug it.

Some people live on this earth to do great things... Unfortunately, most are here simply because it's illegal to kill them.

12,277 in 3DMark06 on a mostly secondhand budget rig rolleyes.gif
Witchfire is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 11-14-2006, 05:38 PM
The Secret Police
 
Transonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 8,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Transonic is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 11-15-2006, 02:26 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
golf1410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i heard that BIOS version F7 of 965P DQ6 already fixed this problem. Is that true?If it true what about DS3,DS4?
golf1410 is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 11-15-2006, 05:29 AM
4.0ghz
 
Witchfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: near Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 1,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I have the F7 BIOS installed in my S3. It will still cycle after a major change in BIOS settings, most notably past 400FSB, but only then. After the initial reboot, mine powers up normally every boot after, regardless if it's a cold boot or a live reboot.

Some people live on this earth to do great things... Unfortunately, most are here simply because it's illegal to kill them.

12,277 in 3DMark06 on a mostly secondhand budget rig rolleyes.gif
Witchfire is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 11-15-2006, 08:02 AM
The Secret Police
 
Transonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 8,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by golf1410 View Post
i heard that BIOS version F7 of 965P DQ6 already fixed this problem. Is that true?If it true what about DS3,DS4?
Nah, I got he F7 and it still does it. I don't think it's a "problem," I read it somewhere that Gigabytes turn on & off on purpose.
Transonic is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 11-16-2006, 05:45 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
golf1410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Power Cycle or Cycling the Power — Turning the power off, and turning it back on again. If there is a power switch, this is the preferred way to power cycle, however for some NETGEAR devices the power cord is simply taken out and then put back in again. Because some devices carry an electric charge for a few seconds after having their power taken away, with the possible result of not really being power cycled, it's common to leave a device unpowered a few seconds before starting it again — anyway, it never hurts to wait a little.

Most NETGEAR devices that are powered off are not functioning at all. However, other devices, such as many computers, are not powered off until their plug is removed from the wall. Be careful not to physically modify the insides of a computer that is still plugged in — even if the power switch is off.

Is it the same thing happen to my motherboard call Power Cycle?
golf1410 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off