Best Core Duo Mobo with SLI - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 30 Old 11-27-2006, 01:52 PM
Original OCN Gangsta
 
Burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 13,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 520
ATM, it seems that several benchmarks (Don't remember who they were from) proved the 680i outperformed the 965 chipset in memory bandwidth and timings...However, it lost in gaming performance (From what I read). Still, the 680i AFAIK takes the cake in overclocking.

My CNC Mill Project
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberDruid
Burn + Electricty + Water =
But the man has the patience of a saint...
We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.
--Randy Pausch
Current Best Benchmark
Burn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 30 Old 11-27-2006, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Munich
Posts: 18,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 823
Sorry, i thought that was for Core Duo.

On the price range side of things, im looking to spend no more than £140 (Less if possible). I know that Core 2 Duo mobos are expensive at the minute but there must be something that supports SLI at that price range.

Thanks

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)
98uk is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 11-27-2006, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
The key thing is to know the chipset and what it will support. There is a new nvidia chipset called the nForce 680i, this one will support the new cards in x16 SLI (such as the 8800 cards). If you plan to get a DX10 card in the future, I would suggest going with a 680i mobo such as the evga which people are suggesting.

One useful thing you can do is go to the nvidia and intel websites and look at their chipset comparison charts, such as this one. This will at least tell you what is and is not supported. For example notice that MoBos with the nForce 570 chipset only do x8 in the SLI mode and not x16.

sti_boy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 30 Old 11-27-2006, 02:40 PM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172
Also, for the Intel platform, motherboards based on the nForce4 or nForce 5xx series don't overclock well at all. The 680i based boards are basically the only sensible choice if you want to run SLI and overclock with a Core 2 Duo.
Chozart is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 11-27-2006, 02:54 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex98uk View Post
Sorry, i thought that was for Core Duo.

On the price range side of things, im looking to spend no more than £140 (Less if possible). I know that Core 2 Duo mobos are expensive at the minute but there must be something that supports SLI at that price range.

Thanks
I dont know how much a $250 MoBo will cost in the UK, I'm pretty sure its not just a conversion. If your budget is #140 (sorry no pound key), then maybe look at a MoBo with the 590 chipset - it still does x16 SLI. I imagine that the evga 680i mobo is > #140.

sti_boy is offline  
post #16 of 30 Old 11-27-2006, 03:14 PM
4.0ghz
 
waqasr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Posts: 4,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 346
ive heard the eVGA board is causing alot of memory modules to burn out...so you may want to think about that..also there is the new ASUS board..striker i think..but im no expert on inter boards, just thought id warn you about the eVGAs issue with some ram modules

SEX
Now that ive caught your attention please scroll up and ACTUALLY read my post
FOR SALE Intel Q8200 , POV 8800 GTS 512, Phenom 9500!
IVE GOT SOME SAN ACES FOR US UK GUYS, GIMME A PM IF YOUR INTERESTED
17718 3DMARK 06 score with sig righttp://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=6793718
My Xbox Gamertag is LiL WaKy, i challenge you to Street Fighter IV, COD4 and Forza 2!
waqasr is offline  
post #17 of 30 Old 11-27-2006, 03:28 PM
 
Lt.JD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Asus Striker i heard is like $300 plus thats alot for a mobo the eVGA is the best Core 2 Duo motherboard with SLi

Also it makes alot more sense to buy on faster single card then two slower cards in SLi so if you follow this advice you could get a Intel Chipset which are known

Laptop: MacBookPro 2.4Ghz T8300, 8600GT 256MB, 200GB 5400RPM HDD, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1440x900
Lt.JD is offline  
post #18 of 30 Old 11-27-2006, 03:54 PM
733mhz
 
IntelMentality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt.JD View Post
Asus Striker i heard is like $300 plus thats alot for a mobo the eVGA is the best Core 2 Duo motherboard with SLi
You're thinking of the ASUS Striker Extreme, ringing in at $409.99, way outta budget.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131074

I don't know if you want anything to do with it, but you could always get a board with a 975x chipset and use modded drivers. I figured its worth a try.

IntelMentality is offline  
post #19 of 30 Old 11-27-2006, 04:07 PM
Old School
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The boonies of Ontario
Posts: 3,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 354
I have the 680i, and my first impressions of this board, is that its the best sli board for intel, but as an overclocking board, its mediocre at best. Lots of problems with it when you overclock, your keyboard beeps and ignores keystrokes, sata controller fails and corrupts your drives, Running sli can cause your audio to crackle etc. If you keep your OC fairly low you will probably not have any problems The ram issue I think is a myth, not too many people have had that one, so its likely the cause was faulty ram or user error.
Dman is offline  
post #20 of 30 Old 11-27-2006, 10:20 PM
 
CL3P20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NCAL
Posts: 16,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1056
I wouldnt expect any Nvidia based chipset to scream OC performance! They do not have a track record to back it and their MCP's leave something to be desired as fas as general stability goes. Not to mention the outrageous chipset temps. I would love to see if someone could actually poach eggs on the NB's hs.

*also ironic I think that an Nvidia board doesnt 'cut the mustard' in gaming when compared to earlier based chipsets.
------------------------------------------------------
Q- if a QX6700 cannot keep pace w/ 2 x 8800's in SLi.....then y SLi at all?

CL3P20 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off