ASUS P9X79 Pro not booting - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 03-13-2013, 10:17 PM - Thread Starter
 
CarterMarkham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just got my new mobo today. I also bought new ram that was on the ASUS QVL. I have hooked everything up and double checked all the connections. When I hit the power button this system starts up for 2 seconds and shuts off. I have no idea what is going on. The LED next to the memory is the last LED to light up, and then the system goes dead. I am not liking this computer build at all and it's really stressing me out. I would appreciate any input.

The memory is g skill ripjaws z 160mhz 4x4gb and yes they are all in the correct channels for the quad setup.
CarterMarkham is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 03-13-2013, 11:13 PM
4.0 GHz
 
ACMH-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: York, PA
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
ACMH-K is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 03-14-2013, 02:00 AM
Console Gamer
 
IanVC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Okay okay, starting off, what are your specs? Including your powersupply.

IanVC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 31 Old 03-14-2013, 04:48 AM
If I motor boat, she gonna motorbike
 
$ilent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 15,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 550
system powering on for few seconds then off could be a short somewhere. Double check underneath your motherboard that there arent any loose cables or screws making contact with the mobo. Id recommend running the pc on a motheboard box first til you find everything is working.
$ilent is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 03-14-2013, 05:37 AM - Thread Starter
 
CarterMarkham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Intel i7 3820
ASUS P9X79 Pro
4x8gb g skill rip jaws z 1600mhz DDR3
2x Samsung 840 series 250gfb SSD
Corsair HX750 psu


I have not moved any of the switches on the board ie tpu etc. everything is factory default
CarterMarkham is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 03-14-2013, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
 
CarterMarkham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
This morning I checked to see if anything was touching the mobo, nothing was. I checked all the power connectors and they are secure. The memory has been re seated. I was unable to try to boot it up because I need to get my heatsink hooked back up with fresh arctic silver 5 tonight. I am going to Radio Shack to pick it up and right nest door is a best buy where I am going to buy some ddr3 ram and try to boot it up in dual channel mode.

Also I have not cleared the CMOS, I will try that tonight as well.
I foresee a long night with ASUS tech support.
CarterMarkham is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 03-14-2013, 10:55 AM
4.0 GHz
 
ACMH-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: York, PA
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
What is the last Q-Code that you receive before the system fails? Should show on the digital read-out on the board itself.

Is the board running on the latest BIOS Revision? I Don't know why I asked that you can't even get into BIOS without getting past RAM first. tongue.gif

Have you tried booting with only 1 stick of RAM seated in the appropriate slot? DIMM D1 which should be a blue slot. (If using this step make sure you try all 4 sticks separately)
(When using 4 Sticks of RAM, Asus recommends using the 4 Blue Slots.)?


I see that the board has a memok button right above the 24-pin power connector, Does the LED Next to the RAM stay lit after the system fails or does it shut off too? If it stays lit, press and hold the memok button until it blinks. (If you get to this step I highly recommend reading the manual before doing so)
ACMH-K is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 03-14-2013, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
 
CarterMarkham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The last code is "62"

I tried the memok button. Didn't do anything.

I'll try the one stick at a time thing tonight.
CarterMarkham is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 03-14-2013, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
 
CarterMarkham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Also I'm just assuming its ram. Since that's the last light to light up before it dies.
CarterMarkham is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 03-14-2013, 01:21 PM
4.0 GHz
 
ACMH-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: York, PA
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by $ilent View Post

Id recommend running the pc on a motherboard box first til you find everything is working.

$ilent has an excellent point there. thumb.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarterMarkham View Post

The last code is "62"

I tried the memok button. Didn't do anything.

I'll try the one stick at a time thing tonight.

I would check that,
then try resetting cmos.
go with the basics first.
At least that's how I start off when needing to troubleshoot.

I don't know how I failed to ask this before blinksmiley.gif, but what are you using for video output/GPU tongue.gif, from what I can see this MB does not have onboard graphics.
ACMH-K is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off