[Official] Asus Rampage IV Black Edition Owners Club! - Page 1367 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13661 of 15094 Old 05-12-2016, 09:42 AM
WaterCooler
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrTOOSHORT View Post

Same performance. Look's like the rest of the motherboard blocks have been sold. I'll have to order up some fittings that will probably cost more than the blocks.
I take it you wanted the nickel one for looks? I noticed they were being sold for approximately $58. Shipping must have been high coming from the UK.

You can get a copper one on performancepcs for about $90 with shipping.

Madmaxneo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13662 of 15094 Old 05-20-2016, 01:15 AM
 
xarot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
In case anyone is still wondering about NVME on RIVE BE, this is on my Intel 750 PCIe SSD. There's even a separate window for NVME drive. Works great.

BIOS 0701.




i9-7980XE / Asus Rampage VI Extreme / Corsair Dominator Platinum 64 GB 3200 MHz CL16-18-18/ Asus Strix 1080TI SLI / Intel 750 NVME / Samsung 1TB / Corsair AX1500i / Phanteks Enthoo Primo / Asus PG279Q
xarot is offline  
post #13663 of 15094 Old 05-20-2016, 08:48 AM
WaterCooler
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by xarot View Post

In case anyone is still wondering about NVME on RIVE BE, this is on my Intel 750 PCIe SSD. There's even a separate window for NVME drive. Works great.

BIOS 0701. Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)



That is awesome! Thanks for the update.

Madmaxneo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13664 of 15094 Old 05-30-2016, 09:08 PM
 
Shadowarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Wait we can use the 750 intel and boot from it! Damn here i thought my board would have to be retired and go with x99 or better. Ill check this out waiting in a 800gb 750 from ncix but they still charging $1299 for 800gb should save lil more get the 1.6Tb on at that price.

Shadowarez is offline  
post #13665 of 15094 Old 05-31-2016, 05:33 AM
WaterCooler
 
seross69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowarez View Post

Wait we can use the 750 intel and boot from it! Damn here i thought my board would have to be retired and go with x99 or better. Ill check this out waiting in a 800gb 750 from ncix but they still charging $1299 for 800gb should save lil more get the 1.6Tb on at that price.

Yes I have a 400Gb one I am using to boot and it is very fast!!

No trees were harmed in the sending of this message. However, a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced

Build Log Ukrainian Banderas devil.gifgunner2.gifgunner.gifsniper.gif

Just playing with cooling and Computers
seross69 is offline  
post #13666 of 15094 Old 05-31-2016, 09:37 AM
Commodore 64
 
Amph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
there is a way in this modo or any other, to force a low % start on an additional fan? it seems that the fan run at full spin when you press the on button to power on your system and then it reduce when the bios screen appear

i need that it start always at low speed even before the bios, because i'm using a single header for two monster fan that consume 0.55A each, and i would damage it if they run at full speed

CASE HAF-XB PSU Corsair AX 750 MB Asrock OC Formula Z87 CPU Intel I5 4670k 4400MHZ RAM G.Skill Sniper-X 1866 8GB GPU 2x Sapphire HD 280X Toxic 3GB HD OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
Amph is offline  
post #13667 of 15094 Old 05-31-2016, 09:45 AM
WaterCooler
 
seross69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amph View Post

there is a way in this modo or any other, to force a low % start on an additional fan? it seems that the fan run at full spin when you press the on button to power on your system and then it reduce when the bios screen appear

i need that it start always at low speed even before the bios, because i'm using a single header for two monster fan that consume 0.55A each, and i would damage it if they run at full speed

I would never put those fans on a motherboard you are asking for trouble and more that damaging the fan header...

No trees were harmed in the sending of this message. However, a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced

Build Log Ukrainian Banderas devil.gifgunner2.gifgunner.gifsniper.gif

Just playing with cooling and Computers
seross69 is offline  
post #13668 of 15094 Old 05-31-2016, 11:12 AM
 
Raghar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amph View Post

there is a way in this modo or any other, to force a low % start on an additional fan? it seems that the fan run at full spin when you press the on button to power on your system and then it reduce when the bios screen appear

i need that it start always at low speed even before the bios, because i'm using a single header for two monster fan that consume 0.55A each, and i would damage it if they run at full speed
Fans typically draws MUCH more power at start. Get some fan regulation, or plug them into PSU, if it has fan headers and can support high power fans.
Raghar is offline  
post #13669 of 15094 Old 05-31-2016, 07:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Laithan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 462
I've been trying to tweak for a while now and I know I'm not nearly finished but I wanted to share the performance I've got so far. This board is amazing when you start to tweak it.

Lots of benchies, many quite impressive (Click to show)



Right-click and open in new tab for hi-res pics

























I assume others are getting similar results?
Laithan is online now  
post #13670 of 15094 Old 06-01-2016, 05:36 PM
 
GenesisDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hey again black edition owners ^^ it has been some weeks when I was last here but finally I now have a Rampage IV black edition of my own.
Sadly since no one seams to be willing to sell there boards I unfortunately ended up purchasing it from a Amazon seller in the USA. the seller was amazing to accommodate me and in the end I only ended up paying £340 with shipping.
As always UK customs slapped it with an extra £92 import charge but despite all that It was still cheaper than buying it on Ebay or Amazon.co.uk (over £1000)

Now here is my problem frown.gif

I'm lucky as it is to have the motherboard now and the seller included everything even the promo game code unused...but can't be used as it expired in 2015 XD
The problem is the seller is sadly a smoker or his family is and this has left some rather horrible build up on some places, Compressed air doesn't work neither does a q-tip with isopropyl alcohol.

After looking online I keep finding that the best way is to give the entire board an alcohol bath and clean the dirty parts with a soft tooth brush, I have a lot of isopropyl alcohol which is 99.9% and a unused tray.
Does anyone have any experience with this kind of thing or if not can anyone give me any advice on how i should remove all the gunk from the board ?

Oh one last thing is due to the age of the board it really does wreck of cigarette smoke and any way to remove that would be much appreciated smile.gif

Sooner I get this done the quicker I can stress test my 4960X ES chip to make sure it is not crap.
GenesisDM is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off