ASUS X99 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread (North American users only) - Page 1227 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12261 of 16158 Old 06-02-2016, 03:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tistou77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post

OC socket seems to work. yes it can, but I'm not in any rush ATM. I want to work with Intel's "Favorite core". Shows up with an " * " in the bios. smile.gif
Lot's of new parameters to understand. AND, so far I'm not getting any easy love with 64GB at 3200c13. mad.gif

Thanks

Ok, have you not tried to mount the Cache to over 3.8GHz?

After may be a Haswell-E with a Cache to 4.4ghz and as good as a B-E with a Cache to 3.8GHz
But I doubt seeing the bandwidth of AIDA64

Sorry for my english biggrin.gif
tistou77 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12262 of 16158 Old 06-02-2016, 04:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 22,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
Quote:
Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post

Thanks

Ok, have you not tried to mount the Cache to over 3.8GHz?

After may be a Haswell-E with a Cache to 4.4ghz and as good as a B-E with a Cache to 3.8GHz
But I doubt seeing the bandwidth of AIDA64
AID 64 bandwidth is very cache dependent. I doubt BW-E will be a routine 3.8+ cache chip.. It's all about 10 core bro. thumb.gif

BOINC Pentathlon Participant   Foldathon Participant 2017 

Jpmboy is offline  
post #12263 of 16158 Old 06-02-2016, 05:17 PM
 
digix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Asus Strix x99 - asus x99 deluxe II - asus x99 a II
What this means for the new motherboards which support processors with integrated graphics?

"Onboard Video Chipset: Supported only by CPU with integrated graphics?"

what processors refer integrated graphics?

Asus X99 Strix Gaming - 5820k - ARCTIC Liquid Freezer 240- Crucial Ballistic Sport 32 GB - Gigabyte GTX 1060 - Samsung SM 961 - Corsair 780T
digix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12264 of 16158 Old 06-02-2016, 06:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 22,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
So flashing from bios 1701 on my 5960X to 3101 made overclocking ram less "easy" and actually required me to raise some timings vs what was fully stable on 1701. It wasn't just a matter of stress instability - 3101 kept dropping a channel (main C, even after scrambling the sticks). I changed to a 5960 6950X today, and although I have not had time to play with this thing much, 3101 is doing the same. Now, I can't get 3200 to post and when it does, it drops channel C again - 2666 is the best so far... Could be my MB, but flashing back to 1701 with the 5960X behaves as it always did.
UGH!

BOINC Pentathlon Participant   Foldathon Participant 2017 

Jpmboy is offline  
post #12265 of 16158 Old 06-02-2016, 06:40 PM
WaterCooler
 
done12many2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post

I changed to a 5960X today

You swapped to the 6950x today, right?

done12many2 is offline  
post #12266 of 16158 Old 06-02-2016, 06:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
djgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post

So flashing from bios 1701 on my 5960X to 3101 made overclocking ram less "easy" and actually required me to raise some timings vs what was fully stable on 1701. It wasn't just a matter of stress instability - 3101 kept dropping a channel (main C, even after scrambling the sticks). I changed to a 5960X today, and although I have not had time to play with this thing much, 3101 is doing the same. Now, I can't get 3200 to post and when it does, it drops channel C again - 2666 is the best so far... Could be my MB, but flashing back to 1701 with the 5960X behaves as it always did.
UGH!
Is that with 64GB? That's a load! With my 32GB I went from 2101 to 3101 with no timing changes, but would have from three BIOS back.
Quote:
Originally Posted by done12many2 View Post

You swapped to the 6950x today, right?

5960 - 6950 ... sounds like dyslexia biggrin.gif

Strix X99 Gaming, 6900K @4.600GHz, 32GB (4x8) G Skill F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR, XSPC Raystorm 2x RX360 L-Cooler
24x7: 100 Strap adptv: 46 mult, 100 BCLK, 3.7GHz 37x NB, DDR4-3400@ 14-14-13-34-1T, 1.41v DRAM,
vcore 1.395 turbo, vcache 1.30@0.380 offset, vccsa 1.09@0.25 offset, vccin 1.8, vccio 1.05, LLC +6
BIOS 1801, Win 10 Pro x64 1709
djgar is offline  
post #12267 of 16158 Old 06-02-2016, 07:10 PM
WaterCooler
 
done12many2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by djgar View Post

5960 - 6950 ... sounds like dyslexia biggrin.gif

Yes Sir. You've got to mess with the guy when you can.

done12many2 is offline  
post #12268 of 16158 Old 06-02-2016, 09:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post

So flashing from bios 1701 on my 5960X to 3101 made overclocking ram less "easy" and actually required me to raise some timings vs what was fully stable on 1701. It wasn't just a matter of stress instability - 3101 kept dropping a channel (main C, even after scrambling the sticks). I changed to a 5960X today, and although I have not had time to play with this thing much, 3101 is doing the same. Now, I can't get 3200 to post and when it does, it drops channel C again - 2666 is the best so far... Could be my MB, but flashing back to 1701 with the 5960X behaves as it always did.
UGH!

Quote:
Originally Posted by done12many2 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by djgar View Post

5960 - 6950 ... sounds like dyslexia biggrin.gif



Yes Sir. You've got to mess with the guy when you can.




Yep thumb.gif ......... I thought guys who knew what they were doing didn't lose Ram sticks ? rolleyes.gif just taking the piss ..... wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif calm down.....tongue.giftongue.gif



I apparently don't cos that happens to me even with Optimized Defaults loaded....smile.gifsmile.gifsmile.gif

Kbird is online now  
post #12269 of 16158 Old 06-03-2016, 01:42 AM
 
digix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Asus Strix x99 - asus x99 deluxe II - asus x99 a II
in the new motherboard it is written in the technical specifications:

"Onboard Video Chipset: Supported only by CPU with integrated graphics?"
what processors refer
no one can answer?

Asus X99 Strix Gaming - 5820k - ARCTIC Liquid Freezer 240- Crucial Ballistic Sport 32 GB - Gigabyte GTX 1060 - Samsung SM 961 - Corsair 780T
digix is offline  
post #12270 of 16158 Old 06-03-2016, 01:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Silent Scone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by digix View Post

Asus Strix x99 - asus x99 deluxe II - asus x99 a II
in the new motherboard it is written in the technical specifications:

"Onboard Video Chipset: Supported only by CPU with integrated graphics?"
what processors refer
no one can answer?

The obvious question you need to ask yourself is, do any of the CPU available for this chipset have integrated graphics?
Silent Scone is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off