ASRock C2550D4I and ECC memory - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-26-2016, 04:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Ontario
Posts: 5,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 684
This is the board in question: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157419

I'm getting this 64GB ECC kit for it. It's for a FreeNAS server: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820239276

On ASRock's website it says: "Supports DDR3 1600/1333 ECC/non-ECC Unbuffered UDIMM"

Is RDIMM (Registered) compatible with this board? I can't find a definitive answer.

If you're taking rounds in the sternum, it's telling you your cover is insufficient


Cyclops is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-26-2016, 05:26 AM
Hi!
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1249
Seems to support both ECC and non-ECC in 16 gig modules.




Is there the possibility of using non-ECC memory? It will save you a lot of money.

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif

Misinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong.
 
...and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.

billbartuska is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-26-2016, 05:36 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Ontario
Posts: 5,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbartuska View Post

Seems to support both ECC and non-ECC in 16 gig modules.



Is there the possibility of using non-ECC memory? It will save you a lot of money.

The problem is that It says it supports Unbuffered memory. The kit I listed is Registered. I'm not sure if they are indeed the same thing.

As for using non-ECC memory, there are no 64GB DDR3 kits to be found.

If you're taking rounds in the sternum, it's telling you your cover is insufficient


Cyclops is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 02-26-2016, 05:44 AM
Hi!
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1249
Buffered and registered are the same thing.
Buffered = Registered
Unbuffered - Un-registered

"Buffered (also called Registered) RAM has additional hardware (a register) that sits between the memory and CPU, and will store data (buffering the data) before it's sent to the CPU. This is meant for reliability in systems that have lots of memory and lots of memory modules (think large servers), because in those systems more memory modules means more electrical demands, so buffering/registering the data reduces electrical load."

Do you already have that motherboard?
What are you trying to build?
What will it be used for?

If it a home server music streamer - you're out of your mind.
(Sorry, just had to say that.)

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif

Misinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong.
 
...and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.

billbartuska is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-26-2016, 06:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Ontario
Posts: 5,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 684
As mentioned in the first post, it's a freeNAS data server in which all of my data will be residing. FreeNAS is heavily memory dependent as it does in-depth error/data-integrity checks in real time, and as such relies on precise memory operations which is why ECC RAM is recommended.

As a rule of thumb, you need 1GB of Ram for 1TB of total storage. I will have 10 x 6TB HDDs in it so I will need about 60GB of ram. A 64GB kit is a reasonable choice.

I have not bought any of the hardware apart from the hard drives as I'm still weighing my options regarding CPU, Motherboard, and Memory.

If you're taking rounds in the sternum, it's telling you your cover is insufficient


Cyclops is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-27-2016, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Ontario
Posts: 5,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Manged to dig some info:
Quote:
ECC UDIMM =/= ECC RDIMM =/= Non-ECC UDIMM =/= Non-ECC RDIMM.
They're all different things.
U stands for unregistered (or unbuffered) and R stands for registered.
The Atom C2550 nor the Asrock C2550 motherboard supports RDIMM's, they only support UDIMM's.
The CPU/board supports both ECC and Non-ECC UDIMM's.

I'm out of luck.

If you're taking rounds in the sternum, it's telling you your cover is insufficient


Cyclops is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-27-2016, 08:15 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Diffident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Rosedale, MD
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclops View Post

As mentioned in the first post, it's a freeNAS data server in which all of my data will be residing. FreeNAS is heavily memory dependent as it does in-depth error/data-integrity checks in real time, and as such relies on precise memory operations which is why ECC RAM is recommended.

As a rule of thumb, you need 1GB of Ram for 1TB of total storage. I will have 10 x 6TB HDDs in it so I will need about 60GB of ram. A 64GB kit is a reasonable choice.

I have not bought any of the hardware apart from the hard drives as I'm still weighing my options regarding CPU, Motherboard, and Memory.

You left this part out when quoting the freenas wiki.
Quote:
For systems with large disk capacity (greater than 8 TB), a general rule of thumb is 1 GB of RAM for every 1 TB of storage.

If you plan to use your server for home use, you can often soften the rule of thumb of 1 GB of RAM for every 1 TB of storage, though 8 GB of RAM is still the minimum. If performance is inadequate you should consider adding more RAM as a first remedy. The sweet spot for most users in home/small business is 16GB of RAM.


I would just get 32GB.
Diffident is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-27-2016, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Ontario
Posts: 5,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diffident View Post

You left this part out when quoting the freenas wiki.
I would just get 32GB.

Doesn't work like that.

I have a 32TB pool of storage with 32GB of ram and the system constantly uses 30GB of it. Severe performance issues will occur with 60TB of storage and 32GB of ram.

If you're taking rounds in the sternum, it's telling you your cover is insufficient


Cyclops is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-27-2016, 01:54 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Diffident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Rosedale, MD
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
The performance hit isn't going to be as big as you think it is. cyberjock, who wrote the guide, Slideshow explaining VDev, zpool, ZIL and L2ARC for noobs! on the Freenas forums is running 10x6TB drives with only 32GB of memory. System specs are in cyberjock's sig.
Diffident is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off