Supreme FX II in a Non-Asus Mobo? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 04-11-2008, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 1,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Hi I just build my new PC with a Asus rampage extreme, Becasue i already have a good PCI sound card i wonding if i could use my Asus Supreme FX II inmy old PC which has a non-asus motherboard.

Any ideas would be great

Rig: dB labs Tranquility > Gilmote Lite > TH900
Pwnography is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 04-11-2008, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 1,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Bump

Rig: dB labs Tranquility > Gilmote Lite > TH900
Pwnography is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 04-11-2008, 09:10 PM
Gadzooks
 
microman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 10,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 757
microman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 04-11-2008, 09:11 PM
Sup'
 
Duckydude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 2,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Sorry, but it can't be done, it uses a special PCI socket for the sound card only found in Asus motherboards designed for it.

Duckydude is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 04-11-2008, 09:27 PM
Gadzooks
 
microman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 10,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckydude View Post
Sorry, but it can't be done, it uses a special PCI socket for the sound card only found in Asus motherboards designed for it.
i thought it was 1x pci-e
microman is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 04-11-2008, 09:27 PM
4.0ghz
 
MomijiTMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
It's a reverse pci-e slot.

MomijiTMO is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 04-11-2008, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 1,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
well it fitted in my dell mobo PCI-e x1 slot XD but i cant find it when isearch for hardware any ideas now it fits the lights are on and stuff

Rig: dB labs Tranquility > Gilmote Lite > TH900
Pwnography is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 04-11-2008, 09:33 PM
4.0ghz
 
MomijiTMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
The physical design of this slot is similar to PCI Express x1 but turned by 180 degrees, however there is no electrical compatibility with the PCI Express x1. The thing is that Supreme-FX is actually not a fully-fledged sound card, but simply an analogue part of the sound tract connected to the AC97 interface. That is why you can only see a one microchip on the Supreme-FX card: the high-definition 8-channel Analog Devices AD1988B codec.
Source

It doesn't look good mate.


EDIT : Oops that's the FX I so I'll keep on digging.

Ok it's a standard pci-e x1 slot however I'm not sure that it will be able to work as there are some audio components that are on the mobo. Good luck to ya.

MomijiTMO is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 04-11-2008, 09:38 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 1,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
yeah but its the same thing the FX II may be diff i hope ty

Rig: dB labs Tranquility > Gilmote Lite > TH900
Pwnography is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 04-11-2008, 09:38 PM
.
 
TnB= Gir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1270
I can tell you from experience it will not work. It lights up fine, but it is not detected by windows. it's a no go.


Overclock.net Mod of the Month 0508 

TnB= Gir is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off