[Official] --The Asus P6X58D Premium & E Thread-- - Page 248 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2471 of 6384 Old 06-25-2010, 06:33 PM
Commodore 64
 
futile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
cool cheers for the advice.. Will keep an eye on it for now, but if it stays are the 68c mark under 100% load and is stable then I'd say I got a winner.

Nice to finally have a decent powered desktop. Patched Win7 to have multiple concurrent Users log in via Terminal Service RDP. Was doing some multi-pass H.264 batch encodes earlier on one user while running 6 Windows VMs in another. 4 Users logged in at the same time. (Main user using the Physical machine).

After 6 years on laptops, this is refreshing.
futile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2472 of 6384 Old 06-25-2010, 08:20 PM
 
Nakattk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Should it take a little force to get the retention bracket back in the clip when installing the cpu. God I hope so! It didnt go over real easy I had to apply pressure to get it to clip back under the holder is this ok? Please tell me I didnt ruine a $300 cpu! The little bracket is a little bowed up even.

Oh and if the above is not a problem which header do I plug my H50 pump into on the P6X58D-E mobo? All of my other fans are going to be molex, so all headers are open.
Nakattk is offline  
post #2473 of 6384 Old 06-25-2010, 09:27 PM
Commodore 64
 
futile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I had the same worry after installing my 930 into the Asus. The CPU sat perfectly, but the Metal bracket that returned seemed like it was putting more pressure on the hinge end of the CPU than the other. I saw no way to install the CPU so just forced the leaver down with faith.

For me at least it doesn't seem to have been an issue... I was a little surprised of the force required thou (I'm used to the old Athlon installations).


No Idea about the H50 pump sorry.
futile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2474 of 6384 Old 06-25-2010, 11:01 PM
 
Nakattk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Is it ok for me to have all my fans plugged through molex via the psu, and non attached to the modo at all? I want all of them running at 100%, so I daisy chained them (5) to a molex plug in my HAF X.
Nakattk is offline  
post #2475 of 6384 Old 06-25-2010, 11:15 PM
333mhz
 
jmaz87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Ok guys i'm starting to get desperate... I can't even post windows with anything close to anybodies settings... consequently my temps are not acceptable either (before i lapped cpu yesterday i was in 90's... now 80's)

how are u guys getting qpi/dram volts so low??? I've barely found stability at 1.65-1.7 with dram bus 1.64-1.66...

right now no matter what i try (even at 4.0) i cant load windows with less than 1.4qpi and i can only get IBT to pass at all at above settings with Vcore's in the 1.4's

PLEASE HELP ME!!!!

jmaz87 is offline  
post #2476 of 6384 Old 06-25-2010, 11:19 PM
Commodore 64
 
ootz0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcde7ago View Post
The H50 is a closed-loop system, it's just mount + plug-in and you're good to go, no maintenance required, ever (except for the occasional wiping the dust build up off the rad)

Your Antec 1200 would be absolutely fine for the H50, it will fit right in. You could even fit it inside using a push/pull (dual fan) setup with no problems.

Max temps I get on my H50 w/ my i7 930 @ 4.0 Ghz with HT on is 73-74 celsius on the hottest two cores, and around 70-71 on the cooler two cores during LinX. Prime95 gets the two hottest cores to around 71-72 and the two cooler cores around 68-69. I have a lot of headroom left, but I like running my chip cooler, as it's only at 1.240 vcore full-load, with HT on and WITH Vdroop (or LLC Disabled, per Intel specs).

My vote would be for the H50, you won't be disappointed
OOoo I do like the sound of that. I think I'll pick up an H50 this weekend and see where that gets me then

I'm just not sure how or where the radiator would be mounted on my case? Is there somewhere I can see pics of how to do this or whatever? Right now I'm just sort of thinking of mounting it on the bottom rear fan set as exhaust, and then have another fan on other side of radiator running in the same direction. I tried looking up a guide on the forums here but all I find are references to a guide :/ meh

ootz0rz is offline  
post #2477 of 6384 Old 06-25-2010, 11:21 PM
333mhz
 
jmaz87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
dont hate




jmaz87 is offline  
post #2478 of 6384 Old 06-26-2010, 03:04 AM
WaterCooler
 
luke997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
luke997 is offline  
post #2479 of 6384 Old 06-26-2010, 06:01 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
kckyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaz87 View Post
Ok guys i'm starting to get desperate... I can't even post windows with anything close to anybodies settings... consequently my temps are not acceptable either (before i lapped cpu yesterday i was in 90's... now 80's)

how are u guys getting qpi/dram volts so low??? I've barely found stability at 1.65-1.7 with dram bus 1.64-1.66...

right now no matter what i try (even at 4.0) i cant load windows with less than 1.4qpi and i can only get IBT to pass at all at above settings with Vcore's in the 1.4's

PLEASE HELP ME!!!!
you can try using the xmp profile.
kckyle is offline  
post #2480 of 6384 Old 06-26-2010, 07:29 AM
4.0ghz
 
xmisery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by luke997 View Post
Sorry, couldn't help myself this morning to try some more

4.926Ghz

Saaawwweeeeeeeeet!!
xmisery is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off