[Official] --The Asus P6X58D Premium & E Thread-- - Page 324 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3231 of 6384 Old 08-27-2010, 03:43 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
samuel002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver,BC
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yeah i just repaste my h50 with MX-3 and i still get the same temps >.< i'm using the antec blue led fans to do push/pull
samuel002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3232 of 6384 Old 08-27-2010, 05:03 PM
333mhz
 
EasterEEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by samuel002 View Post
just did a test with IBT 10 runs/veryhigh heres a screenshot
Your idle temps do seem about 8-10C high espeically with your vCore temp, but that partially depends on your ambient temp. What is your ambient temp?

Approx 74C is reasonable under load, it's what I get albeit with a slighly higher vCore.

My stability test is usually 3 hours of Prime95, 20xIBThigh and some 3DMark testing and then how the system then runs for normal day to day use. Stability testing is quite a subjective subject; some would want to see much longer testing. My own view is that I don't want to put my system under high stress and high temps for hours on end. I just want to be stable for normal day to day work.

EasterEEL is offline  
post #3233 of 6384 Old 08-27-2010, 05:25 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
samuel002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver,BC
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Oh i see my room temp is about 23c what QPI Data should be i have it in auto should i change it to something else?
samuel002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3234 of 6384 Old 08-27-2010, 10:42 PM
333mhz
 
routek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hi guys.

I used xmisery guide as a template to OC my i7 930 to 3.8Ghz with Hyper threading using the P6X58D-E

I had to bump the CPU voltage to 1.20000 in the bios (1.18125 suggested with HT) as it shut down after exiting the bios so I might try to drop it a bit and tune it later. Also bumped up the QPI/Dram voltage to 1.24375 at the same time. I'm running prime95 and just took a pic after 13mins. Pic show CPU voltage 1.184.

EDIT: same temps after an hour

Just wondering what you think and possibly see anything untoward that I've done. Cheers.

routek is offline  
post #3235 of 6384 Old 08-28-2010, 03:23 AM
4.2 ghz
 
lawrencendlw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bremerton, WA
Posts: 2,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 71
You never want to adjust 2 settings at once to find stability. You want to do the Vcore and test and then if it fails do the QPI/DRAM. That way your not raising the Vcore when it was the dram that needed more juice and vice versa.

[QUOTE=routek;10504400]Hi guys.

I used xmisery guide as a template to OC my i7 930 to 3.8Ghz with Hyper threading using the P6X58D-E

I had to bump the CPU voltage to 1.20000 in the bios (1.18125 suggested with HT) as it shut down after exiting the bios so I might try to drop it a bit and tune it later. Also bumped up the QPI/Dram voltage to 1.24375 at the same time. I'm running prime95 and just took a pic after 13mins. Pic show CPU voltage 1.184.

EDIT: same temps after an hour

Just wondering what you think and possibly see anything untoward that I've done. Cheers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zodac go_quote.gif
zodac fixed the spreadsheet, but says she doesn't wanna join your unofficial club.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevdog go_quote.gif
Watch out DickHard I'm coming for you..gunner2.gif



Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  25 Million+ Folding at Home points  15 Million+ Folding at Home points 

lawrencendlw is offline  
post #3236 of 6384 Old 08-28-2010, 08:58 AM
333mhz
 
routek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yeah that's correct of course I wouldn't want to be using too much. The way it immediately shut down seemed like the values were low for mine.

After a long run I went back and started small increments and ended up being stable at what I guessed at unfortunately. Best to check though. Max temp was 59 after hours of prime.

routek is offline  
post #3237 of 6384 Old 08-28-2010, 09:22 AM
syl
333mhz
 
syl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
syl is offline  
post #3238 of 6384 Old 08-28-2010, 10:09 AM
4.0ghz
 
xmisery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by routek View Post
Yeah that's correct of course I wouldn't want to be using too much. The way it immediately shut down seemed like the values were low for mine.

After a long run I went back and started small increments and ended up being stable at what I guessed at unfortunately. Best to check though. Max temp was 59 after hours of prime.
Congrats on your new stable 3.8 OC. Can you post your settings when you get a chance.
xmisery is offline  
post #3239 of 6384 Old 08-28-2010, 11:13 AM
1.3ghz
 
Kyushu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hey guys I'm thinking about getting this board the E version to save money. I read the differences in the first page of the thread but had some questions.
What would I being giving up if I get the E over the premium? Will I get the same amount of support from people in this forum if I get the E or do a lot more people have the premium here? Support like overclocking settings etc...

Thanks guys.

Kyushu is offline  
post #3240 of 6384 Old 08-28-2010, 11:55 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
kckyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyushu View Post
Hey guys I'm thinking about getting this board the E version to save money. I read the differences in the first page of the thread but had some questions.
What would I being giving up if I get the E over the premium? Will I get the same amount of support from people in this forum if I get the E or do a lot more people have the premium here? Support like overclocking settings etc...

Thanks guys.
i'm pretty sure there are equal amount of support for both boards since they're practically the same. the only slight difference you might have to adjust would probably because your your cpu since no processors are alike.
kckyle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off