[Official] --The Asus P6X58D Premium & E Thread-- - Page 333 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3321 of 6384 Old 09-02-2010, 02:49 AM
333mhz
 
Enphenate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: California
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by routek View Post
I've got 2 460s and the top card is 10C hotter under load and about 4-5C at idle.
same with my 5770 xfire, top is 10c higher during load =[ when my two 460s come tomorrow ill report back

sneaky.gif: : The Official Corsair H70 Hydro Series Club : : sneaky.gif

Enphenate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3322 of 6384 Old 09-02-2010, 07:09 AM
Commodore 64
 
ProdigyXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys. I'm looking to achieve a completely stable 24/7 overclock of 3.8Ghz on the rig in my signature. I'm a fairly inexperienced overclocker. My experience is limited to overclocking a E6850 & E8400 from 3Ghz to 3.6Ghz... nothing too exciting there.

I have utilized Misery's handy template (thanks, man) with what I think is good success. What I mean by that is that it is 100% stable, but my voltages are much higher than his. I know that everyone's CPU/mobo/ram, etc is different and the whole "your mileage may vary". I also know that 930's seem to require more voltage than their older siblings. I'm basically asking (in a long-winded way) if my adjusted voltages/temps are good for 24/7 use. Everything is set to his template except for:

CPU Voltage: 1.23125
QPI/DramCore Voltage: 1.27500

I believe I can come down on the QPI, but got slightly impatient finding my stable vcore and did a quick and dirty increase in the QPI. I will start lowering this weekend when I have time.

This setup ran Prime95 for over 8 hours with all four cores never passing 72c (they hung around 68c-72c). Idle temps range from 37c-41c.

Does this sound good to the pros out there? The range of issues I had when lowering the vcore were almost instant BSOD upon running Prime95, 1 system freeze during Prime95, and several applications becoming unresponsive at various times. All this cleared at the current settings.

Thanks for any help.

ProdigyXP is offline  
post #3323 of 6384 Old 09-02-2010, 01:23 PM
333mhz
 
Daykain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Routek what brand of gtx 460 do you have? I can handle 10C difference under load.
Daykain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3324 of 6384 Old 09-02-2010, 02:00 PM
333mhz
 
routek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
2 EVGA 768MB reference cooler


routek is offline  
post #3325 of 6384 Old 09-02-2010, 05:11 PM
333mhz
 
Daykain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by routek View Post
2 EVGA 768MB reference cooler

Good to know. Thanks! I saw on another thread someone with Gigabyte GTX 460s SLI'd that had 20+ C differences in temp but couldn't find a thread that talked about this board and temp differences for an EVGA with EE.
Daykain is offline  
post #3326 of 6384 Old 09-02-2010, 05:48 PM
Commodore 64
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Here we go!

New workstation:









Desktop 1:
GMC R3-Corona Watercooled
| Asus Rampage II GENE | I7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz | G.Skill Trident 6GB DDR3 2000MHz | HD5850 1GB Black Edition + MCW60 Rev. 2 | Corsair HX620W | Seagate Barracuda
1TB 7200.12 | Samsung 22" 2232BW
so_bad is offline  
post #3327 of 6384 Old 09-02-2010, 09:10 PM
333mhz
 
heptilion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1373575

add me to the 4ghz list... =D

Ai Overclock Tuner.....................[Offsetl]
CPU Ratio Setting......................[21.0]
Intel(r) SpeedStep(tm) Tech............[Enabled]
Xtreme Phase Full Power Mode...........[Enabled]
BCLK Frequency.........................[191]
PCIE Frequency.........................[100]
DRAM Frequency.........................[DDR3-1531MHz]
UCLK Frequency.........................[Auto]
QPI Link Data Rate.....................[Auto]

CPU Voltage Control....................[Offset]
CPU Voltage............................[0.05625]
CPU PLL Voltage........................[1.80]
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage..................[1.2500]
IOH Voltage............................[1.10]
IOH PCIE Voltage.......................[1.50]
ICH Voltage............................[1.10]
ICH PCIE Voltage.......................[1.50]
DRAM Bus Voltage.......................[1.62]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHA...........[Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHA...........[Auto]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHB...........[Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHB...........[Auto]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHC...........[Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHC...........[Auto]

Load-Line Calibration..................[Enabled]
CPU Differential Amplitude.............[800mV]
CPU Clock Skew.........................[Normal]
CPU Spread Spectrum....................[Disabled]
IOH Clock Skew.........................[Normal]
PCIE Spread Spectrum...................[Disabled]

C1E Support............................[Enabled]
Hardware Prefetcher....................[Enabled]
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetch...........[Enabled]
Intel(r) Virtualization Tech...........[Enabled]
CPU TM Function........................[Enabled]
Execute Disable Bit....................[Enabled]
Intel(r) HT Technology.................[Enabled]
Active Processor Cores.................[All]
A20M...................................[Disabled]
Intel(r) SpeedStep(tm) Tech............[Enabled]
Intel(r) C-STATE Tech..................[Disabled]

my gratidude goes to xmisery, blackdragon24 and sizzle..

checked stability with 50 passes of linx at 25489 problem size and 8 hours of prime95 blend test
max temp is at 76c.. is that too high??
heptilion is offline  
post #3328 of 6384 Old 09-02-2010, 09:50 PM
4.2 ghz
 
lawrencendlw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bremerton, WA
Posts: 2,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 71
There is no way that your CPU voltage is 0.05625. I'm sure its just a typo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by heptilion View Post
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1373575

add me to the 4ghz list... =D

Ai Overclock Tuner.....................[Offsetl]
CPU Ratio Setting......................[21.0]
Intel(r) SpeedStep(tm) Tech............[Enabled]
Xtreme Phase Full Power Mode...........[Enabled]
BCLK Frequency.........................[191]
PCIE Frequency.........................[100]
DRAM Frequency.........................[DDR3-1531MHz]
UCLK Frequency.........................[Auto]
QPI Link Data Rate.....................[Auto]

CPU Voltage Control....................[Offset]
CPU Voltage............................[0.05625]
CPU PLL Voltage........................[1.80]
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage..................[1.2500]
IOH Voltage............................[1.10]
IOH PCIE Voltage.......................[1.50]
ICH Voltage............................[1.10]
ICH PCIE Voltage.......................[1.50]
DRAM Bus Voltage.......................[1.62]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHA...........[Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHA...........[Auto]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHB...........[Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHB...........[Auto]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHC...........[Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHC...........[Auto]

Load-Line Calibration..................[Enabled]
CPU Differential Amplitude.............[800mV]
CPU Clock Skew.........................[Normal]
CPU Spread Spectrum....................[Disabled]
IOH Clock Skew.........................[Normal]
PCIE Spread Spectrum...................[Disabled]

C1E Support............................[Enabled]
Hardware Prefetcher....................[Enabled]
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetch...........[Enabled]
Intel(r) Virtualization Tech...........[Enabled]
CPU TM Function........................[Enabled]
Execute Disable Bit....................[Enabled]
Intel(r) HT Technology.................[Enabled]
Active Processor Cores.................[All]
A20M...................................[Disabled]
Intel(r) SpeedStep(tm) Tech............[Enabled]
Intel(r) C-STATE Tech..................[Disabled]

my gratidude goes to xmisery, blackdragon24 and sizzle..

checked stability with 50 passes of linx at 25489 problem size and 8 hours of prime95 blend test
max temp is at 76c.. is that too high??

Quote:
Originally Posted by zodac go_quote.gif
zodac fixed the spreadsheet, but says she doesn't wanna join your unofficial club.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevdog go_quote.gif
Watch out DickHard I'm coming for you..gunner2.gif



Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  25 Million+ Folding at Home points  15 Million+ Folding at Home points 

lawrencendlw is offline  
post #3329 of 6384 Old 09-02-2010, 09:58 PM
333mhz
 
dantoyang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackDragon24 View Post
If it made it an hour before BSOD'ing, then my guess would be QPI voltage.

If you are close on cpu voltage but not quite there, it would probably just throw an error on one of the cores and keep running. Same for Vdimm. If you were way off on either it would have BSOD'd much earlier most likely.

I've had several instances where it will run OCCt or prime for several hours and then BSOD on me, and every time it was QPI voltage. Bump it two notches and see if it fixes you.
upped QPI like 5 or 6 notches and passed 24 hr prime95 stable except coming home to a crashed firefox(not like FF does not crash @ stock), will start folding to get a real feel once I am done OCing my graphic card and figure out how to setup folding in ubuntu. Thanks a lot for the suggestion

6 Million+ Folding at Home points 

dantoyang is offline  
post #3330 of 6384 Old 09-02-2010, 10:10 PM
333mhz
 
heptilion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawrencendlw View Post
There is no way that your CPU voltage is 0.05625. I'm sure its just a typo.
nah its not a typo.. im using "offset" instead of "manual" to adjust my voltage..
heptilion is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off