Possible mobo problem (Iwill) any help would be great - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-30-2006, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
jmt137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ok, built a computer for high performince gaming and graphics software, but when i power on the computer it sends no signal to the monitor, infact the monitor eventually goes into sleep mode. Myself and a friend tried switching the PCI-e X16 slots for the graphics card, nothing happened, tried one stick of ram at a time, still nothing. It gives no beeps or post beeps. when you turn on the power and and start it all the fans on the motherboard turn on all the case fans turn on and all the cathodes turn on, but the cd drives, when the eject button is pushed do not eject, and when you force the drive open with a paper clip nothing spins (not sure if it would). Now the motherboard is an SLI workstation board so would it HAVE to be in sli or crossfire mode or be able to run a single graphics card? specs are below:

Iwill DN800 sli
dual intel xeon 3.2gig 800fsb
4 gig ddr2 registered ecc (required by motherboard)
HIS hightech radeon x1800xt
Ultra X-finity 600watts sli ready psu
3 harddrives (250gig 7200rpm)

ANY HELP WOULD BE GREAT.

jmt137

jmt137 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-30-2006, 08:43 AM
Forum Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 61,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1329
Have you tried putting the ram into different slots and Reseting the C-mos by taking out the watch battery out of your motherboard for 5mins.

Welcome to Overclock
grouphug.gif Fold for the Cause, Fold for the People grouphug.gif
 
 
 

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  100 Million+ Folding at Home points  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ENTERPRISE is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-30-2006, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
jmt137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yes we did try pulling out the battery and different dimm slots for the ram

I'm really thinking its the motherboard because it sends no signal what so ever, its as if you just turn on the monitor when you don't have the cable hooked up to anything. On a plus side i'm friends with a professor here at college that will take a look at it for me but still any ideas that anybody might have as to what the problem is would be great.

forgot to mention no onboard video port only the PCI-e X16 radeon.

jmt137

jmt137 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 01-30-2006, 02:05 PM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I sure you have tried but just incase did you reflash the bios?

Jack Of All Trades and Master Of None!!??
dsddcd is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-30-2006, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
jmt137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
by reflash the bios do you mean put the jumper to erase the bios?

jmt137 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-30-2006, 06:14 PM
(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧·★゜・。☆゜。 ・゚
 
CyberDruid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blue Ridge Mts., Virginia
Posts: 23,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2585
Unfortunately the computer would need to post to flash the BIOS--as well as recognize either a FDD or Card-Reader-sounds bad--like terminal RMA-city on that mobo.

August 13th, 2011 sad-smiley-002.gif Happy trails, may we meet again.


CyberDruidPC is History

Overclock.net Mod of the Month June 2008  Overclock.net Mod of the Month December 2009  4 Million+ Folding at Home points 

CyberDruid is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-30-2006, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
jmt137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
yeah unfortunately its prolly a dead motherboard but will have it checked on wednesday, tomorrow gotta call iwill to find out how they wanna do a return

jmt137 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off