**Official ASUS P5Q PRO Turbo/PRO/Turbo Owners Club** (All ASUS P45 Mobo Owners Welcome!) - Page 318 - Overclock.net

View Poll Results: Do you prefer the new OCN?
Yes! 32 35.56%
No! 14 15.56%
Yes and No! 13 14.44%
Don't give a damn about it! (LOL) 31 34.44%
Voters: 90. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3171 of 6511 Old 05-13-2011, 04:34 PM
**FORZA JUVENTUS**
 
KingT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 478
KingT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3172 of 6511 Old 05-13-2011, 04:37 PM
Relaxed Overclocker
 
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway, far up North..
Posts: 5,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 425
turrican9 is offline  
post #3173 of 6511 Old 05-13-2011, 04:39 PM
**FORZA JUVENTUS**
 
KingT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
I would use at least 1.94v. These P5Q boards really seems to like in the 1.94 - 2.0v range for mem...
I have always used 1.9V for 920MHz on my P5Q Pro and these kit can do 1066MHz w/ 2.0V easily..

I have tested RAM with memtest 4.0 and it has passed..

CHEERS..
KingT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3174 of 6511 Old 05-13-2011, 04:42 PM
Relaxed Overclocker
 
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway, far up North..
Posts: 5,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingT View Post
I have always used 1.9V for 920MHz on my P5Q Pro and these kit can do 1066MHz w/ 2.0V easily..

I have tested RAM with memtest 4.0 and it has passed..

CHEERS..
Memtest 4.0 for DOS only find faulty mem. My experience with the Pro Turbo have showed time after time that Memtest for DOS can even pass at 1.8v. But in Windows under Load they need much higher Volts to be stable..
turrican9 is offline  
post #3175 of 6511 Old 05-13-2011, 04:44 PM
**FORZA JUVENTUS**
 
KingT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
Memtest 4.0 for DOS only find faulty mem. My experience with the Pro Turbo have showed time after time that Memtest for DOS can even pass at 1.8v. But in Windows under Load they need much higher Volts to be stable..
I have tested with memtest Ver. 4.0 for Windows like I always do..

But if I have any issues again then I will try bumping vRAM for sure..

CHEERS..
KingT is offline  
post #3176 of 6511 Old 05-13-2011, 04:48 PM
Relaxed Overclocker
 
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway, far up North..
Posts: 5,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingT View Post
I have tested with memtest Ver. 4.0 for Windows like I always do..

But if I have any issues again then I will try bumping vRAM for sure..

CHEERS..
Ahh... You used memtest for Windows. Well, that in addition to Blend Custom will suffice..
turrican9 is offline  
post #3177 of 6511 Old 05-13-2011, 05:07 PM
**FORZA JUVENTUS**
 
KingT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
Ahh... You used memtest for Windows. Well, that in addition to Blend Custom will suffice..
Yeah man,I know my stuff..

I have just run 10 loops of Warhead Avalanche map and it has passed without a glitch..

I suspect FSB STRAP as one to blame as I have used AUTO like i was on P5Q Pro and it was unstable,but now I have changed it to 333MHz along with other voltage changes..

It looks rally stable but I will do more testing tomorrow and will try dropping vFSB,vNB etc just to see if 333 STRAP is really the one that makes a difference..

This P5QC seems like a decent mobo and OC's on pair with Pro/Pro TURBO..

CHEERS..
KingT is offline  
post #3178 of 6511 Old 05-13-2011, 05:47 PM
Relaxed Overclocker
 
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway, far up North..
Posts: 5,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingT View Post
Yeah man,I know my stuff..

I have just run 10 loops of Warhead Avalanche map and it has passed without a glitch..

I suspect FSB STRAP as one to blame as I have used AUTO like i was on P5Q Pro and it was unstable,but now I have changed it to 333MHz along with other voltage changes..

It looks rally stable but I will do more testing tomorrow and will try dropping vFSB,vNB etc just to see if 333 STRAP is really the one that makes a difference..

This P5QC seems like a decent mobo and OC's on pair with Pro/Pro TURBO..

CHEERS..
I know you know your stuff

Yeah, I knew that board should be a decent one and right in line with P5Q Pro/P5Q Pro Turbo.

And as I've also said, I think this board will bring your mem to at least 1066MHz stable..
turrican9 is offline  
post #3179 of 6511 Old 05-14-2011, 12:02 AM
**FORZA JUVENTUS**
 
KingT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9;13494714 
I know you know your stuff tongue.gif

Yeah, I knew that board should be a decent one and right in line with P5Q Pro/P5Q Pro Turbo.

And as I've also said, I think this board will bring your mem to at least 1066MHz stable..

Well this mobo officially supports DDR2 up to 1066MHz (unlike other P5Q mobos which suport RAM speed up to 1200MHz)..

And in the User manual it says that 1066MHz RAM dimms should be inserted only in the Black RAM slots..

I haven't tried upping RAM freq yet until I fully test this OC..

After I'm done with FSB/stability testing I will play with RAM..

But I'm not sure that this mobo will do any better with this HyperX than my P5Q Pro did..

CHEERS..
KingT is offline  
post #3180 of 6511 Old 05-14-2011, 04:29 AM
Relaxed Overclocker
 
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway, far up North..
Posts: 5,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingT;13497983 
Well this mobo officially supports DDR2 up to 1066MHz (unlike other P5Q mobos which suport RAM speed up to 1200MHz)..

And in the User manual it says that 1066MHz RAM dimms should be inserted only in the Black RAM slots..

I haven't tried upping RAM freq yet until I fully test this OC..

After I'm done with FSB/stability testing I will play with RAM..

But I'm not sure that this mobo will do any better with this HyperX than my P5Q Pro did..

CHEERS..

Your P5Q Pro had som compatability problems with your HyperX. No doubt.

My P5Q Pro Turbo says it supports up to 1300MHz DDR2, yet it is terrible with mem overclocking VS the P5Q-E which supports up to 1200MHz DDR2.

You never know with these boards. But it may be your P5QC is 'limited' somehow because it also supports DDR3. And that this has complicated the design somehow. At least you should try 1066MHz.
turrican9 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off