**Official ASUS P5Q PRO Turbo/PRO/Turbo Owners Club** (All ASUS P45 Mobo Owners Welcome!) - Page 98 - Overclock.net

View Poll Results: Do you prefer the new OCN?
Yes! 32 35.56%
No! 14 15.56%
Yes and No! 13 14.44%
Don't give a damn about it! (LOL) 31 34.44%
Voters: 90. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #971 of 6511 Old 01-02-2011, 04:40 PM
 
virus86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sigh, my E8400 C0 blows! (Or maybe its something else)

I have a Corsair H-50 waiting in the box and Ill only install it if Im able to get a stable 4GHz. Ill keep trying for 4Ghz till the last day Im able to return the H-50.

Ive been reading up on turrican9's post. I like how he posts detailed BIOS settings. Even though hes using a different processor, I used the same BIOS settings for his FSB = 435 and I got a "stable" run. Where "stable" is playing a round of SC2. I know its not the right way to test for stability, but its a stepping stone.

turrican9, what are your CPU settings in BIOS? Did you disable them all or are they at default (only onc disabled, its the one dealing with Windows XP, I think)

GO GATORS!
virus86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #972 of 6511 Old 01-02-2011, 04:51 PM
**FORZA JUVENTUS**
 
KingT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 478
@virus86

Here`s The link to my post to you rgarding the BIOS settings and testing mehodology..

So what went wrong there?

Yes disable all options in CPU configuration table in BIOS and manually set CPU multiplier..

CHEERS..
KingT is offline  
post #973 of 6511 Old 01-02-2011, 05:03 PM
 
virus86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingT;11866883 
@virus86

Here`s The link to my post to you rgarding the BIOS settings and testing mehodology..

So what went wrong there?

Yes disable all options in CPU configuration table in BIOS and manually set CPU multiplier..

CHEERS..

I passed the 3hr 6x test, but when I went for 9x, it kept crashing all the way to 1.4V for the CPU. Should I keep going? When should I stop increasing voltage?

GO GATORS!
virus86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #974 of 6511 Old 01-02-2011, 05:09 PM
**FORZA JUVENTUS**
 
KingT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by virus86;11867037 
I passed the 3hr 6x test, but when I went for 9x, it kept crashing all the way to 1.4V for the CPU. Should I keep going? When should I stop increasing voltage?

What FSB freq.??

If your core temps are under 75C in all tests then you could go up to the 1.45V for Vcore but not further..

With x9 multi test with Intel Burn Test 20runs with MAX RAM..

CHEERS..
KingT is offline  
post #975 of 6511 Old 01-02-2011, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
**Perfection @ 4GHz**
 
ocman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Yours To Discover
Posts: 2,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by virus86;11867037 
I passed the 3hr 6x test, but when I went for 9x, it kept crashing all the way to 1.4V for the CPU. Should I keep going? When should I stop increasing voltage?

Hi virus86,

1.4V is the max safe to test with.

Have you tried tweaking FSB term. volt. and NB volt.?

How are the timings and voltage for your RAMs?
ocman is offline  
post #976 of 6511 Old 01-02-2011, 05:14 PM
**FORZA JUVENTUS**
 
KingT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocman;11867098 
Hi virus86,

1.4V is the max safe to test with.

Have you tried tweaking FSB term. volt. and NB volt.?

How are the timings and voltage for your RAMs?
His FSB and NB voltages are tweaked as he passes P95 with lowest x6 CPU multi..

He has Vcore hungry chip as he crashes with 9x multiplier..

CHEERS..
KingT is offline  
post #977 of 6511 Old 01-02-2011, 05:14 PM
 
virus86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
FSB = 450

I havent touched the other voltages.

My ram timings are 5-5-5-18 @ 2.1V

Im going to run the 6x test again just to make sure I didnt mess anything up.

GO GATORS!
virus86 is offline  
post #978 of 6511 Old 01-02-2011, 05:19 PM
**FORZA JUVENTUS**
 
KingT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by virus86;11867152 
FSB = 450

I havent touched the other voltages.

My ram timings are 5-5-5-18 @ 2.1V

Im going to run the 6x test again just to make sure I didnt mess anything up.

Use settings from the link that I`ve posted above..

FSB freq = 450MHz
DRAM TIMINGS=5-5-5-15(rest on auto) or by memory spec
STRAP=AUTO
DRAM freq=900Mhz <<VERY IMPORTANT FOR STABILITY
DRAM STATIC READ CONTROL = DISABLED
DRAM READ TRAINING = DISABLED
OC charger=Enabled
AI booster=Enabled
Performance Level=10
CPU multiplier= 9x
Vcore=what Chip needs to hit 4GHz (add a bit if you crash)
CPU GTL = 0.63x
PLL=1.54
FSB voltage=1.30V
DRAM voltage=2.0V
NBv=1.30V
SBv=1.2V
PCIE/SATA voltage=1.60V
CPU & PCIE Spread spectrum=Disable
CPU & NB skew=AUTO
Load Line Calibration=ENABLED

All options in CPU Configuration set @ DISABLE and CPU MULTI @ 9..

1. But first test these with 6x multi with P95 LARGE FFT for at least 3h..

2. If you pass reboot to BIOS upp your Vcore and set MULTI to 9x..

3. If it doesn't boot keep adding Vcore untill it does..

4. Then in Windows test 450MHz FSB x9 =4.05GHz with IBT 20runs w/ max RAM and if you crash then just upp Vcore and test it again..

5. If you pass P95 LARGE FFT & IBT 20 runs then you're ROCK SOLID..

KEEP YOUR CORE TEMPS UNDER 75C IN ANY STRESS TEST..

I thought you`ve done it and tested with those settings..

CHEERS..
KingT is offline  
post #979 of 6511 Old 01-02-2011, 05:21 PM
 
virus86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
What is "8.5 multi"?

GO GATORS!
virus86 is offline  
post #980 of 6511 Old 01-02-2011, 05:22 PM
**FORZA JUVENTUS**
 
KingT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by virus86;11867152 
What is "8.5 multi"?

Sorry about that as I ment 9x CPU multiplier..

My Q9550 has a 8.5x CPU multiplier so that`s why I made a mistake..

CHEERS..
KingT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off