Asus P67 Series Information Thread (drivers, BIOSes, overclocking, reviews) **UPDATED 4/22** - Page 126 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1251 of 3000 Old 02-27-2011, 07:20 PM
Commodore 64
 
hotstocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I had same problem at 4.7ghz 1.3v.
Set load line callibration to the ultra or extreme will solve the problem,
did for me. Keeps voltage at what you set 1.3v, not some bull****
fluctuation between 1.26 and 1.31 without.
hotstocks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1252 of 3000 Old 02-27-2011, 07:26 PM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thinking about getting a refund on my MSI P67A-GD65 and switching to a P8P67 Deluxe. Have folks tried their CPUs on different boards and been able to achieve the same overclocks with lower voltage (or conversely, higher overclocks on the same voltage)?

With the MSI, I feel like I have to make compromises when I upgrade the BIOS- get bug fixes and updates, but lose present overclock capability. Had to up my voltage 0.05 just to stay stable at 4.6. Also, my voltage is almost never what I set it at, despite what vdroop (LLC) is set at- If I set 1.425 in bios, it idles at 1.40, and at load it'll jump to 1.456 (according to CPU-Z).

Also, when testing your overclocks for stability, if it's benchmark/torture test/folding stable, but then BSODs on something trivial like opening the start menu, loading a youtube video, or something- would you automatically increase voltage or consider something else?

Edit- just read Tckholes post. at least your guys LLC seems to actually do something.

liquoredonlife is offline  
post #1253 of 3000 Old 02-27-2011, 08:19 PM
Ram molester
 
coolhandluke41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by TckHoles;12548044 
I can run any stability test for several hours, not a hiccup, but I get at least 1-0000000124 BSOD dump every day while surfing, or on youtube, or even at idle, even with my ram at stock settings, is anyone else having this problem ?
does this happen under offset mode ?

Ivy Bridge moment.. (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoGuru go_quote.gif

...that is pretty much how it would go for me. Freeze that motha #^$% and and say F)ck the review tongue.gif


Chimp Challenge Participant 

coolhandluke41 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1254 of 3000 Old 02-27-2011, 08:41 PM
Kappa
 
Semper Fidelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colleyville, TX
Posts: 3,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 281
These boards seem to be really picky about voltage... I remember on 775 I could boot pretty much every time unless I was doing something that I knew was impossible (like 4GHz at 1.3v etc.)

But now with this setup I can be at like 1.39v in the BIOS and it won't boot at all... then I can do 1.4v in the BIOS and its completely stable. I would think with the lower of the two voltages it would at least boot then BSOD when I am running prime or something.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ENTERPRISE go_quote.gif
A PC can run with an OS. It just means it has reduced functionality lol.
Get Custom Avatars Here | Wallpapers Here | Brown Flow | CM690 Club | OCN Pixel Wall | Ballistix Club

"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic." - Arthur C. Clarke
Aumotocnic: An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club.
Overclock.net Headphone Club: Because perfect hair is overrated.
Semper Fidelis is offline  
post #1255 of 3000 Old 02-27-2011, 09:35 PM
1.3ghz
 
TckHoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolhandluke41;12549644 
does this happen under offset mode ?

I dont use offset because I leave c states on auto , which with 1305 = disabled, so my clocks are always 4.5, if I put voltage on auto it jumps to about 1.38. I have noticed no matter what, the voltage spikes from 1.312 to 1.344 all day long my settings are

oc profile =manual
by all cores=45
pll overvoltage= enabled
vrm freq=manual
vrm=350
duty= extreme
phase=extreme
LLC= ultra high
vcore manual=1.335

hopefully a solution is coming, either through b3 revisions or ?

I found some kind of p67 bsod hotfix through another forum, but it says I do not need the update

TckHoles is offline  
post #1256 of 3000 Old 02-27-2011, 10:10 PM
4.0ghz
 
Jonesey I7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: OCN OR BFBC2 24/7
Posts: 2,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by TckHoles;12550612 
I dont use offset because I leave c states on auto , which with 1305 = disabled, so my clocks are always 4.5, if I put voltage on auto it jumps to about 1.38. I have noticed no matter what, the voltage spikes from 1.312 to 1.344 all day long my settings are

oc profile =manual
by all cores=45
pll overvoltage= enabled
vrm freq=manual
vrm=350
duty= extreme
phase=extreme
LLC= ultra high
vcore manual=1.335

hopefully a solution is coming, either through b3 revisions or ?

I found some kind of p67 bsod hotfix through another forum, but it says I do not need the update

Anyone know what "bsod hotfix" he's talking about and a link please?

2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Jonesey I7 is offline  
post #1257 of 3000 Old 02-27-2011, 10:32 PM
I'm no longer an Asushole
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Here nor there
Posts: 25,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonesey I7 View Post
Anyone know what "bsod hotfix" he's talking about and a link please?
Right here, it's integrated into SP1.

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge Participant  6 Million+ Folding at Home points 

grunion is offline  
post #1258 of 3000 Old 02-27-2011, 10:34 PM
Ram molester
 
coolhandluke41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by TckHoles View Post
I dont use offset because I leave c states on auto , which with 1305 = disabled, so my clocks are always 4.5, if I put voltage on auto it jumps to about 1.38. I have noticed no matter what, the voltage spikes from 1.312 to 1.344 all day long my settings are

oc profile =manual
by all cores=45
pll overvoltage= enabled
vrm freq=manual
vrm=350
duty= extreme
phase=extreme
LLC= ultra high
vcore manual=1.335

hopefully a solution is coming, either through b3 revisions or ?

I found some kind of p67 bsod hotfix through another forum, but it says I do not need the update
drop your LLC to high or medium (you may have to bump v just a natch)

Ivy Bridge moment.. (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoGuru go_quote.gif

...that is pretty much how it would go for me. Freeze that motha #^$% and and say F)ck the review tongue.gif


Chimp Challenge Participant 

coolhandluke41 is offline  
post #1259 of 3000 Old 02-27-2011, 10:37 PM
1.3ghz
 
TckHoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonesey I7 View Post
Anyone know what "bsod hotfix" he's talking about and a link please?
here is a link to the hotfix
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/979444

and the article
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?p=31260077

give that a shot
Jonesey I7 likes this.

TckHoles is offline  
post #1260 of 3000 Old 02-27-2011, 10:39 PM
1.3ghz
 
TckHoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolhandluke41 View Post
drop your LLC to high or medium (you may have to bump v just a natch)
tried that, the BSOD happens more frequent with LLC below ultra high, maybe on high with 1.34 would work, thanks ill try that

TckHoles is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off