Intel P67 Pro fail to boot on default settings - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 20 Old 01-22-2011, 10:35 AM
ROLL TIDE
 
RAFFY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 5,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 282
You get the problem fixed yet? I'm installing windows again for about the 15th time. I put memtest on a USB but for some reason can not boot from it. Now with windows it goes to the message screen "setting up windows for the first time" then it crashes and goes to a black and white screen that says windows recover.

RAFFY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 20 Old 01-22-2011, 11:32 AM
Booty Enthusiast
 
Booty Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Eyegasm Land!
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Hmm, is this limited to Asus boards?
Booty Warrior is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 01-22-2011, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Twistacles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada, Mntrl
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Gave up last night...

I'm going to try re-installing windows. If it fails I'll take my whole computer apart and put it back together.
Twistacles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 20 Old 01-22-2011, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Twistacles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada, Mntrl
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So they released a new bios update today, but the image integrity fails.

This sucks.

Edit:

New bios update installed and CMOS cleared, no fix.
I tried plugging my bootable ssd on my friends computer but it appears to be fine aswell.
Essentially, if I boot from that drive, it will crash within the first few seconds of seeing the splash screen, and if I try to boot from a CD it crashes immediately following the ASUS splash screen.

I'm really at a loss, here. I've remounted the CPU on the off-chance that that was the problem, although that hasn't seemed to change anything. I doubt it's the PSU because according to the readings im geting no vdroop at all.

The other odd thing, however, is that the bios auto sets my cpu to 1.4 vCore which is much more than it needs to be, and in so doing causes my temps to be in the 48-50s
Twistacles is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 01-22-2011, 05:28 PM
ROLL TIDE
 
RAFFY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 5,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twistacles View Post
So they released a new bios update today, but the image integrity fails.

This sucks.

Edit:

New bios update installed and CMOS cleared, no fix.
I tried plugging my bootable ssd on my friends computer but it appears to be fine aswell.
Essentially, if I boot from that drive, it will crash within the first few seconds of seeing the splash screen, and if I try to boot from a CD it crashes immediately following the ASUS splash screen.

I'm really at a loss, here. I've remounted the CPU on the off-chance that that was the problem, although that hasn't seemed to change anything. I doubt it's the PSU because according to the readings im geting no vdroop at all.

The other odd thing, however, is that the bios auto sets my cpu to 1.4 vCore which is much more than it needs to be, and in so doing causes my temps to be in the 48-50s
CONGRATULATIONS!!!! You have joined myself and many others in the RMA ASUS Pro club. From what I have read it seems if you have any issue like I do and you it's the board and time to rma. Just make sure it's not your ram which you have and then rma. Sorry can't help any further except contact ASUS someone told me there helping people out with cross shipping.

RAFFY is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 01-22-2011, 09:41 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Twistacles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada, Mntrl
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Say it aint so frown.gif
Twistacles is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 01-22-2011, 10:44 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BOS
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I'm in the same boat except my board won't even show me anything to get into the bios frown.gif
ebolamonkey3 is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 01-23-2011, 12:08 AM
2.4ghz
 
kevink82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Just out of curiosity is C-states enable?

kevink82 is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 01-23-2011, 04:23 PM
2.4ghz
 
AverageGai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAFFY View Post
CONGRATULATIONS!!!! You have joined myself and many others in the RMA ASUS Pro club. From what I have read it seems if you have any issue like I do and you it's the board and time to rma. Just make sure it's not your ram which you have and then rma. Sorry can't help any further except contact ASUS someone told me there helping people out with cross shipping.
Out of curiosity, is this a problem with the Asus P67 mobos or just the Pro line? I was thinking of getting an EVO, but seeing all these boot failures on this board has really gotten me hesitant.
AverageGai is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 01-23-2011, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Twistacles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada, Mntrl
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Don't do it frown.gif

Should I ask for a refund or a replacement? I don't want to deal with more crap. Only prob is the 15% restocking fee
Twistacles is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off