Calling all laptop GTX 1060 3GB owners- does your 1060 have the full 1280 Cuda Cores? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-22-2017, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocker
 
jonathan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I had a comment on one of my YouTube videos today where I had reviewed an MSI laptop. The individual pointed out that he had the same laptop with the same 3GB GTX 1060. He noted that when looking at software to show the particulars of his GPU, it stated he had the full 1280 Cuda Cores that normally come with a 6GB GTX 1060, rather than the cut down 1152.

Is this something that is standard on the laptop versions of the GTX 1060 or is this because MSI has used the full GPU and just disabled 3GB of vram? As you can probably tell where I am going with this- I wonder if it would be possible to flash the internal 1060 to the full 6GB of vram. Obviously if this didn't work, it isn't as simple as buying a new 1060 to replace the one you just bricked, so I don't have the intestinal fortitude to try this out. Regardless, I am still curious. Any insight would be greatly appreciated! smile.gif
jonathan13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 04-25-2017, 04:39 AM
? I can game anywhere ...I want to. ?
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Laptop 1060s are all the full core count 1060 and either 3gb or 6gb vram is physically there. Desktop 1060 3GB is physically disabled on the die.

Can anyone explain to me why MSI needs our laptops back on top of the wholesale price they're already more or less recouping from us with their GT72(s)/GT80(s) trade in program? MSI isn't a company you can trust!
thegreatsquare is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-25-2017, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
Overclocker
 
jonathan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegreatsquare View Post

Laptop 1060s are all the full core count 1060 and either 3gb or 6gb vram is physically there. Desktop 1060 3GB is physically disabled on the die.

Thank you!
jonathan13 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off