Gateway FX laptop Series Thread *mods and upgrades* - Page 83 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #821 of 2331 Old 01-10-2009, 10:41 PM
3.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Right next 2 u
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asus Mobile View Post
Don't the X series Intel CPU's need BIOS support to OC multiplier? Is that supported by the FX?

JFX mind if I ask cost?
how do u update the bios

MyPhoneNumberIs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #822 of 2331 Old 01-10-2009, 10:57 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rogers Park, 60626
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyPhoneNumberIs View Post
how do u update the bios
That is the problem. And for the record am not 100% certain I am correct on how it works as I don't own one.

I think the BIOS is where you change the multipliers. If a model had versions that supported then you just flash the BIOS if not already supported. If your model never supported you would be mostly out of luck taking advantage of unlocked multipliers. There are people who Mod BIOS but that gets involved finding if one even exists. If you are going to spend the cash on X series CPU's I recommend making sure your model or very similar with a BIOS that would work offered the X CPU. If not just get the highest clocked locked and OC FSB. Yes they do physically fit but if you can't use the OC feature sort of a waste of money.

Asus Mobile is offline  
post #823 of 2331 Old 01-10-2009, 11:55 PM
JFX
333mhz
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Yowk
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hm.

JFX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #824 of 2331 Old 01-11-2009, 12:02 AM
JFX
333mhz
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Yowk
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My old desktop was able to up the Mhz multiplier in the bios, but my other laptop, dell XPS is pinmodded. which gives it the new multiplier by which to run the FSB. What is the best way to overclock this 8800m Gts card by the way?

JFX is offline  
post #825 of 2331 Old 01-11-2009, 06:20 PM
3.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Right next 2 u
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
well which bois do i need? for the X7900

MyPhoneNumberIs is offline  
post #826 of 2331 Old 01-11-2009, 06:24 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rogers Park, 60626
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyPhoneNumberIs View Post
well which bois do i need? for the X7900
That is the problem, it may not exist?

Asus Mobile is offline  
post #827 of 2331 Old 01-11-2009, 08:25 PM
3.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Right next 2 u
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asus Mobile View Post
That is the problem, it may not exist?
do u need the bios just to oc it

MyPhoneNumberIs is offline  
post #828 of 2331 Old 01-11-2009, 08:38 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rogers Park, 60626
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyPhoneNumberIs View Post
do u need the bios just to oc it
Yes I think you do.

Asus Mobile is offline  
post #829 of 2331 Old 01-11-2009, 10:17 PM
3.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Right next 2 u
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asus Mobile View Post
Yes I think you do.
than i guess i wont overclok it than till i can get a bios maybe shifty can help and there reallly is no need to overclock that beast lol

MyPhoneNumberIs is offline  
post #830 of 2331 Old 01-12-2009, 04:54 AM
1.3ghz
 
stevegel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm waiting for shifty to mod the lighted keyboard.

stevegel is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off