Gateway Netbook LT2005U good or no? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 11-23-2009, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
 
Optum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I was thinking to buy this for my girlfriend and would like to know from u guys if you think this is a good deal and a reliable laptop..the price is only 229.00. She wont be doing much with it.

Thanks

Windows 7Fan Club
Optum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 11-24-2009, 06:44 AM
4.0ghz
 
ComGuards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 636
You know, all the netbooks have *really* similar specs, so in terms of performance, you're not going to be get a whole lot of performance variation.

Short of finding somebody here who actually has that model, I'm not sure if you're going to be able to get a clear review as to whether it's good or not.

The main thing you should probably do is swing by your local Best Buy (or some other computer store) and have your girlfriend check out the other 10.1" netbooks they have on display and see if she can work on the small-size keyboard and screen, i.e. see if it's usable for her.

You know, when it comes to laptop "reliability", if it's going to be sitting on a clean, dry, kitchen counter all day long, it's probably going to be fairly reliable. But if you're moving it around, dropping it on the sofa, etc, it might not last that long. It's not a toughbook, and it still has a spinning hard-drive in it, so you can't exactly toss it around like a rag doll =P

Personally, Gateway's part of the Acer Group of Companies, so I'm not sure I'd buy it based on that fact alone. Acer-Group systems haven't really inspired my trust and confidence lately... =P
Optum likes this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo go_quote.gif
Benchmarking is so boring......
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables go_quote.gif
Man, I hate it when debris gets stuck in my hole.
ComGuards is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 11-24-2009, 06:59 AM
Audiophile
 
CJRhoades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 127
How about an MSI Wind u-100? They're $30-$40 cheaper and have about the same specs. They also have a built in overclocking feature. Hit Fn+F10 while plugged in and you get an instant boost to 2GHz.
Optum likes this.

Component History:
Athlon 950 Thunderbird > Athlon 64 LE-1620 > Athlon x2 4850e > Phenom II x3 720BE > Core i5-2500K > Ryzen 7 1700
GeForce2 MX400 > Radeon HD 4650 > Radeon HD 5770 > Radeon HD 6850 > Radeon HD 6950 > Radeon R9 290 > GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
CJRhoades is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off