Sempron 2600+ not at full speed - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-25-2005, 02:26 AM - Thread Starter
Misogamist
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 982
My laptop is majorly pissing me off. I tried to play guild wars and it was choppy (just walking around town with everything set to minimum).

My CPU is not coming up to speed, it stays at 795 mhz, but it should be around 1800 mhz.

I have windows set to Performance (no visuals or anything)

What can I do to make this laptop increase to the spec'd speed? Laptop is listed in sig under (mine) = HP Pavilion ze2000

3770k@4.5 http://valid.x86.fr/0lv27p
8350@4.5 http://valid.x86.fr/rgh5nk
4670k@4.4 http://valid.x86.fr/swavhi
8310@4.5 http://valid.x86.fr/3nxlhi
Asus G75vw http://valid.x86.fr/tdt7t7
Quote:
Originally Posted by p4inkill3r go_quote.gif

Also, we're discussing intel because it seems like there's no way to enforce pure-AMD build threads in this forum. It should be renamed the 'you really want intel instead' forum.

1 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

CravinR1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-25-2005, 02:29 AM
4.0ghz
 
Some_Idiot2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lozz Anjaleze
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 203
AMD moblie processors have this thing called "Power Now", which clocks the CPU according to CPU demand. It will show up as 795MHz in CPUz, or other programs like that, but it will run at full speed when it needs it. This is to save battery life. http://www.amd.com/images/PowerNowDashboard_setup.zip
Download that.
Some_Idiot2 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-25-2005, 03:05 AM - Thread Starter
Misogamist
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Then why is guild wars, which doesn't require a 2600 processor, lagging ? Yes its on dial up, but at a better connection than my home pc which does fine.

3770k@4.5 http://valid.x86.fr/0lv27p
8350@4.5 http://valid.x86.fr/rgh5nk
4670k@4.4 http://valid.x86.fr/swavhi
8310@4.5 http://valid.x86.fr/3nxlhi
Asus G75vw http://valid.x86.fr/tdt7t7
Quote:
Originally Posted by p4inkill3r go_quote.gif

Also, we're discussing intel because it seems like there's no way to enforce pure-AMD build threads in this forum. It should be renamed the 'you really want intel instead' forum.

1 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

CravinR1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 12-25-2005, 03:12 AM
4.0ghz
 
Some_Idiot2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lozz Anjaleze
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by CravinR1
Then why is guild wars, which doesn't require a 2600 processor, lagging ? Yes its on dial up, but at a better connection than my home pc which does fine.
Um... You home PC is a lot better than your laptop, it has a more powerfull processor, more RAM and a better video card.
edit: yeah, your home PC has 4x the RAM that your laptop has. And is your 2600 sempron even 64 bit (is it socket 754 or socket A)?
Some_Idiot2 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-25-2005, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
Misogamist
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 982
I think I've solved my dilema. Went to the Egg and ordered 512 x 2 Ram for the laptop.

I think the 32 shared vid is eating into the lousy 256 RAM and is whats hindering my laptop.

You guys think the Gig will make a huge difference?

3770k@4.5 http://valid.x86.fr/0lv27p
8350@4.5 http://valid.x86.fr/rgh5nk
4670k@4.4 http://valid.x86.fr/swavhi
8310@4.5 http://valid.x86.fr/3nxlhi
Asus G75vw http://valid.x86.fr/tdt7t7
Quote:
Originally Posted by p4inkill3r go_quote.gif

Also, we're discussing intel because it seems like there's no way to enforce pure-AMD build threads in this forum. It should be renamed the 'you really want intel instead' forum.

1 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

CravinR1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off