Server got hacked.. interesting security opportunity - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 03-20-2012, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I have a server that myself and a friend run that is using Debian Squeeze. We have a running RT, sql, and ftp environment. I noticed some errors in some basic commands such as pstree and ls.

The scope of this post is not to ask how to clean it up. Not yet anyways, I turned off the server and do not have physical access to it at the moment. What I want is to be pointed in the right directions on how to secure a server in linux. From the easy configurations to the nitty gritty. How do major suppliers protect their machines? Is it all in proprietary scripts?

Thoughts please. I am new to security but I am perfectly willing, and already am, doing research and would love any help I could get.

Quote:
The problem is, like so many other things, people want instant gratification. They want the reward without the work, the cool of the Coke without the sweat that makes them hot in the first place... -iceblade^
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 03-20-2012, 03:31 PM
Kamehameha!!!

Liked: 574
A quick breakdown:
  • Disable FTP and use SFTP (I wrote a guide to do that on here somewhere)
  • Following on from the above, disable all other clear text log ins. eg SSH instead of telnet (which you're unlikely to have running anyway), SSL HTTP authentication (use self signed certs if you have to). SSH tunnel any remaining traffic that cannot be encrypted.
  • Install fail2ban to block attempted brute force attacks
  • tune iptables (plenty of guides to do that online - but be very careful as it's an easy way to brick your box)
  • make sure all your TCP sockets listen on localhost unless you specifically want outside connections to that daemons (this is less of an issue if you have iptables set securely - but it's good practice anyway)