Odd problem, anyone can solve? :/ - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 14 Old 05-30-2011, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
DJEndet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9;13688137 
Try to look in bios under Advanced memory timings and see if you can find a setting called tRD. Another name for it is Performance Level. This control the Performance of the mem. If left at Auto it will loosen itself when you up FSB. So to me it sounds like this could be your issue.

Try your CPU at 3.1GHz, then download Memset 4.1 and look at the Performance Level.

Then overclock your CPU to your max clock again and look at the Performance Level again.

Usually this will vary from 6 and up. Most common when overclocking is 8 - 10. Should not need more then 10. But if left at Auto it can default to 15+ !.

If you cannot find this setting in bios 'tRD' or Performance Level, you can use Memset 4.1 to adjust it. This will greatly affect mem performance.

2ms0flx.png

Thanks alot for the post! Thats some really usefull to remember. smile.gif

Too bad I can't test it since, as in the previous post I posted, my mobo died on me so can't try to solve anything since theres no mobo to use. tongue.gif But will be usefull info when and if I will OC my DDR3 memory with the new setup.

DJEndet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 Old 05-30-2011, 02:24 PM
Relaxed Overclocker
 
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway, far up North..
Posts: 5,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 425
turrican9 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 05-30-2011, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
DJEndet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9;13689482 
Sorry to hear that tongue.gif

You will not find any use for this on Sandybridge setups. As they do not have this setting smile.gif

Oh darn then.. Well, I'm gonna excpect that 1366 would have these still so will be usefull info when I have to OC my brothers computer. smile.gif

DJEndet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 14 Old 05-30-2011, 02:28 PM
Relaxed Overclocker
 
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway, far up North..
Posts: 5,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJEndet;13689498 
Oh darn then.. Well, I'm gonna excpect that 1366 would have these still so will be usefull info when I have to OC my brothers computer. smile.gif

No, I don't think you will find it in 1366 either. This setting is only for 775 I believe wink.gif
turrican9 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off