Memory Timings - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-07-2006, 03:31 AM - Thread Starter
Mile High Club
 
Mhill2029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Intel Fabrication Lab
Posts: 10,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 873
Only just realised that my DDR400 dimms are different timings which isn't a problem really it will just slow down one of the dimms. Now i have my AMD64 3800+ (single core) overclocked @ 2.7Ghz, obviously i had to lower the ram to 333Mhz to get a higher overclock being consair value. But....

Will increasing the memory timings to that of the faster dimm damage the other dimm in anyway? Or is system instability the most likely?

Dimm01 200Mhz Dimm02 200Mhz

3-3-3-8 3-4-4-8

Mhill2029 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-07-2006, 05:27 AM
Forum Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 61,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1329
It wont damage it you will simply loosen the timings which wont have a great affect on system performance anyway. In simple no you wont damage it from adjusting the timings. If it cant do a set adjustment you will just get a BSOD.

Welcome to Overclock
grouphug.gif Fold for the Cause, Fold for the People grouphug.gif
 
 
 
ENTERPRISE is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-07-2006, 05:30 AM
Retired Staff
 
adam144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Castleford
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 213
What Enterprise said is true. I've heard that AMD 64 systems benefit from tighter timings more than Intel systems do, so you should try and get the tightest stable timing possible (use memtest86 for stability testing)

[center][FONT="Verdana"]Upgrades
- Team Elite 4GB PC-6400 - installed!
- Sapphire HD4850 512mb - installed!
- 500gb 7200.10 - installed!

adam144 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 10-07-2006, 06:14 AM
4.0ghz
 
xie67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: bRISBane
Posts: 2,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mhill2029
Only just realised that my DDR400 dimms are different timings which isn't a problem really it will just slow down one of the dimms. Now i have my AMD64 3800+ (single core) overclocked @ 2.7Ghz, obviously i had to lower the ram to 333Mhz to get a higher overclock being consair value. But....

Will increasing the memory timings to that of the faster dimm damage the other dimm in anyway? Or is system instability the most likely?

Dimm01 200Mhz Dimm02 200Mhz

3-3-3-8 3-4-4-8
Damage to the IC's is not likely in this situation.
What you will experience is the modules with the looser SPD are going to govern the overall memory timmings and DRAM clock.
You may find that they will just not operate on the tighter timmings.

It is going to be a process of testing..testing and some more testing to find the best (tightest) timmings the second module will run at your nominated fsb. At this point you may find you will have to use a divider to run the RAM on a 100MHz (DDR200) divider.

smil3dbd4e4c2e742.gif...and be happy not mad !

Major changes in the 'Dungeon of Doom' on now
3700+Sandiego KACAE @ 2.85GHz(285x10) 203MHz 2-3-2-5 1Tpost-flame-small.gif3700+Sandiego CCBWE @ 2.42GHz(220x11) 220MHz 2-3-3-6post-flame-small.gif3000+Barton @ inactive for now



xie67 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-07-2006, 06:19 AM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I doubt it would damage it. Most likely just either not boot or become unstable in which case you just loosen them again. Either way theres only one way to find out.
TourTeX is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-07-2006, 01:46 PM - Thread Starter
Mile High Club
 
Mhill2029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Intel Fabrication Lab
Posts: 10,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 873
I increased the timings to that of the faster dimm and i have noticed quite an increase in memory performance.
3-3-3-8 is as tight as they go, simply doesn't post if i go 2-2-2-8 heh.

Mhill2029 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-09-2006, 10:27 AM
Hi!
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mhill2029
I increased the timings to that of the faster dimm and i have noticed quite an increase in memory performance.
3-3-3-8 is as tight as they go, simply doesn't post if i go 2-2-2-8 heh.
Changing 3-3-3-8 to 2-2-2-8 is a VERY big jump, I'm not surprised it didn't work. Start slow and make small changes and test each change. http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2223&p=5

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif

Misinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong.
 
...and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.

billbartuska is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off