What is so special about SLI memory? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 11-16-2006, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
Custom User Title
 
pauldovi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Posts: 13,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 923

pauldovi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 11-16-2006, 03:56 PM
5 gigs of hert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 7,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 511
memory sli = dual channel ?? :S

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.derp go_quote.gif
I would lap id the heat pipes n aluminum next them are uneven to get the even.
drunken.gif
Kopi is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 11-16-2006, 04:00 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
I don't think it means much. It's just a marketing thing.
dannyyboii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 11-16-2006, 04:03 PM
4.0ghz
 
1c0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 1,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
definately a marketing thing. for those who have way too much money and not enough brains.. lol. i've read nothing to suggest it is better then a good kit of team or gskill. other than a branding on it. i'd like to see for sure tho. im just talkin out my arse ATM.

Meet Mr. Blobby. He's a Blobfish, yes he's real, so dont be mean to him. He's my friend, he makes me smile, and no, I'm not taking him down, I'm lonely

Say Hi to Blobby, he likes it

3.33

1c0n is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 11-16-2006, 05:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
stargate125645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 535
They make the RAM (allegedly) more efficient in operation with SLI graphics cards. I'm not sure you will notice any difference unless you compare benchmarks multiple times, and even then...

On a side note, I find that diagram incredibly amusing. They make it vague enough so that it seems like you can have 2 PCI-E x16 slots and 1 PCI-E x8 slot at the same time, as well as 5 PCI slots and 2 PCI-E x1 slots. I hope people don't fall for that - I'd like to see the size of the motherboard required to fit all of that!

stargate125645 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 11-16-2006, 05:10 PM
Windows Server Crusader
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 4,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Marketing. nVidia wanted more $$

Check out my Remote Desktop FAQ!

Quote:
Originally Posted by losttsol go_quote.gif
If that is a flying car, then my Dodge truck is the friggin space shuttle.


post-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gif
bdattilo is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 11-16-2006, 05:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 12,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 919
EMI (?) Profiles.

Not sure EMI is the right name, but it is ___ Profiles.

It helps, but not really worth it.

2 Million+ Folding at Home points  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

The Pook is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 11-16-2006, 05:13 PM
..the party can start now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 8,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 589
nothing. it's marketting. Like sli certified PSUs...it doesn't really mean that it's any different...

Sideburns is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 11-16-2006, 05:23 PM
Tablet Guru
 
Robilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 20,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 674
Has nothing to do with SLI graphic cards. It has enhanced performance profiles (EPP) for boards designed to accept it (like my evga board and c4 corsair ram). What it does is allow auto auto-overclocking of memory with overclocking the cpu, up to the maximum overclock the ram supports without messing with any settings. its all automatic

Corsair has many models available (all the C4 and C5 designated ram)., OCZ, kingston, mushkin, crucial and patriot also have models.

Robilar is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 11-16-2006, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter
Custom User Title
 
pauldovi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Posts: 13,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 923
I figured it was just marketing. And even after what Robilar said, it really is just that.

pauldovi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off