DS3 & OCZ 2GK 800MHz - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 12-09-2006, 11:08 PM - Thread Starter
Networking Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
First off, will OCZ RAM even be good for a C2D build? Then, does anyone know if it will work w/ a DS3? If no to either of these questions, what RAM that runs at least 800MHz for $250 max. is better?

EDIT:
Here's the RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227089
money11465 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 12-09-2006, 11:11 PM
2.4ghz
 
Zytek_Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I assume that it is 2.1v?
After putting it in, go to the BIOS and manually increase the voltage to 2.1
Zytek_Fan is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 12-09-2006, 11:14 PM
Just get the HD555's.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 299
These would be a better bet:

http://www.tankguys.biz/ddr2-3338-p-...81e109def43516


If I ever had a transaction with you, please fill out my heatware!

Don't forget to stop by the Intel ES CPU Club!
Wankerfx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 12-09-2006, 11:17 PM - Thread Starter
Networking Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
I'd like 2GB kit, please, just like the OCZ.

EDIT:
Would these be better?:
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ctCode=85025-5 Corsair XMS 800MHz
money11465 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 12-09-2006, 11:55 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Avoid both Corsair and OCZ when it comes to DDR2

SUPER TALENT 2GB $275
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820609026

A little bit over your budget but it's worth it

boredom is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 12-10-2006, 12:01 AM
2.4ghz
 
Zytek_Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The DS3 is a bit finicky about RAM
Zytek_Fan is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 12-10-2006, 12:02 AM - Thread Starter
Networking Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
So besides Super Talent, what companies should I go for and watch out for? Also, do the memory compatibility lists (there are no DDR2-800 2GB kits for the DS3 certified by Gigabyte) really matter?
money11465 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 12-10-2006, 12:03 AM
Just get the HD555's.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 299
The DS3 dislikes ram with D9 memory chips. If you're getting an E6600, then I'd buy a DS3 and pauldovi's Patriot ram in the "for sale" section. That gets you 2 gb of DDR2-800 ram for $200.00 shipped.

I believe it got to DDR2-900 which is 4ghz on the E6600. I doubt you'll be at that speed for 24/7 use.


If I ever had a transaction with you, please fill out my heatware!

Don't forget to stop by the Intel ES CPU Club!
Wankerfx is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 12-10-2006, 12:07 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 184
It's not so much that you should watch for brands but the IC's they're currently using

There are these...

BUFFALO Firestix 2GB $245
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820150054

but they're out of stock

Memory compatibility lists put together by Gigabyte don't really matter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wankerfx View Post
The DS3 dislikes ram with D9 memory chips. If you're getting an E6600, then I'd buy a DS3 and pauldovi's Patriot ram in the "for sale" section. That gets you 2 gb of DDR2-800 ram for $200.00 shipped.

I believe it got to DDR2-900 which is 4ghz on the E6600. I doubt you'll be at that speed for 24/7 use.
The F8i BIOS pretty much fixed the D9 problem, there are a bunch of threads over at XS about it

boredom is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 12-10-2006, 12:11 AM - Thread Starter
Networking Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Crucial seems realtively popular among DS3 users. How do I find out about the ICs in the modules?
money11465 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off