4GB of ram on Vista 32 bit - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 06-26-2007, 09:57 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Send a message via AIM to hanwinting Send a message via MSN to hanwinting Send a message via Yahoo to hanwinting Send a message via Skype™ to hanwinting
i am using 32 bit Vista Business edition. IF i use 4 GB of how much of it will actually show up on Window??

thnx
hanwinting is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 06-26-2007, 09:58 PM
4.0ghz
 
reberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Send a message via AIM to reberto Send a message via Skype™ to reberto
3.25gb
hanwinting likes this.

reberto is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 06-26-2007, 09:59 PM
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Send a message via MSN to Solarcaine
Solarcaine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 06-26-2007, 10:00 PM
 
Kimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 55
No you need a 64 bit version you utilise the full 4gb. So you'll see about 3gb in the operating system.
hanwinting likes this.

Kimon is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 06-26-2007, 10:01 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Send a message via AIM to hanwinting Send a message via MSN to hanwinting Send a message via Yahoo to hanwinting Send a message via Skype™ to hanwinting
alrite thnx guys rep +
hanwinting is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 06-26-2007, 10:01 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ./
Posts: 2,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Send a message via AIM to Wheezy Baby
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarcaine View Post
You need Vista Ultimate to utilize 4gigs.
No. You need a 64-Bit operating system to utilize all 4GB of memory. Any 32-Bit operating system will utilize up to 3.25GB of memory.

I made my account name when I was very young. We all have our regrets dont we?

..Gaming on linux, more possible every day
..


questionmark.gifNeed help with linux? questionmark.gif
Check the FAQ Directory or Make your own thread


Wheezy Baby is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 06-26-2007, 10:10 PM
 
wire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sussex, WI
Posts: 5,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 420
Besides being able to use 4 gigs of ram, what does the 64 bit have over the 32 bit?

wire is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 06-26-2007, 10:13 PM
5.2ghz
 
LiNERROR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 268
depends on how much hardware you have in your machine... normally ~3.25gb

KhAOS 4593.37 ~173% OC i7 920/48GB/1284EE CPU-Z Validator Want to know the secret to the internet?
"I got an error" is a meaningless statement, if you can't be bothered to share the error... I can't be bothered to help...

LiNERROR is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 06-26-2007, 10:13 PM
Loading Please Wait...
 
TheLegend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 6,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by wire View Post
Besides being able to use 4 gigs of ram, what does the 64 bit have over the 32 bit?
It can address the memory in a different fashion and provide a more robust OS being that the applications run are 64 bit and not 32.

|

Fold for 37726
Folding Team "Just Be Cause" Honorary Member
TheLegend is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 06-26-2007, 10:20 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
any 64-bit compatible programs have the potential to run faster and more efficiantly.
johonm333 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off