memtest testing time - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-14-2008, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
Gunga Lagunga
 
dralb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cloud 9
Posts: 6,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 681
Does memtest take longer to test larger amounts of RAM? I was testing my 1gb sticks of ballistix the other night and it was moving along fairly quickly. I just got my new G.Skill 2x2gb kit and it is going much slower. Is that simply due to the larger amount of RAM or is there something going on?

dralb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 03-14-2008, 06:32 PM
 
thealmightyone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Yeah, its cos you got more memory. Memtest checks every cell when stress testing, so more cells = more time.
thealmightyone is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-23-2008, 01:52 PM
WaterCooler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pasco, WA
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I have a question about running the test. When you load it up with 4 gigs it tells me to run 2 copies with X amount of memory tested on each? Is this necessary or can you just run one copy with any amount? I usually just set it for one copy and 1024. Does this effect the test in any way?

Mercyflush64 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off