Ok, a few newbie questions about RAM timings/Latency - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 13 Old 11-24-2005, 01:36 AM - Thread Starter
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: BC, Canada..... Eh
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Uhhhh, why would the program do that? lol
I've never tested it for my RAM specifically as far as I know. I jsut tried a torture test like my friend said to see if my CPU OC was stable.

CanadaGradeEh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 13 Old 11-24-2005, 01:38 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Overclocking too far causes instability.
Overclocking your ram too far or tightening timings too far can cause instability.
Instability in the ram can cause OS corruption, program corruption, etc.
Memtest tests the ram before it gets to the os meaning that nothing can be corrupted.
To run prime you need to load ur os
tweako_420 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 11-24-2005, 01:40 AM - Thread Starter
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: BC, Canada..... Eh
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Ah yes! Durr *slaps forehead* Thank you for that. Well, like I said, I have no available floppies and I don't have a CD burner on this computer. My brother is asleep so I can't get to his computer. His powerbar is taken away right now anyway.

CanadaGradeEh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off