will these timing slow me down? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-11-2005, 10:39 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
RaCeR123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Ok i just overclocked my cpu as much as I can with this cheap A$$ ram.
are these timing gonna slow me down (noticable) ?

RaCeR123

RaCeR123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-11-2005, 10:41 PM
333mhz
 
newcoreclocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Maby a bit during benchmarking but ultimetly not really.
newcoreclocker is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-11-2005, 10:44 PM
Retired Staff
 
ncsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 657
(Moved to Memory forum)

ncsa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 12-11-2005, 10:48 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
RaCeR123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
oh sorry ncsa i thought about overclocking and automatically posted it here haha my bad.

RaCeR123

RaCeR123 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-12-2005, 08:45 AM
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ft.lauderdale, FL
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaCeR123
Ok i just overclocked my cpu as much as I can with this cheap A$$ ram.
are these timing gonna slow me down (noticable) ?
You'll definetly notice a big difference in benchmarks. In aquamark 3 for example that will probably cost you about 3000 points or so. In games it will have a marginal effect. Depends upon the game, and how memory intensive it is. Battlefield 2 for example would probably be effected due to its large textures and memory requirements.

2.85 ghz @ 1.6v on Air biggrin.gif
"Inspiration is best defined as a memory never expirenced."
"If pacman had affected us as kids we 'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetetive electronic music."Nintendo made this statement in 1989 to defend the fact that computer games do not affect kids.

How do I see which programs on my computer are trying to connect to the internet? F.A.Q

hadesx82 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-12-2005, 09:23 AM
audio aficionado
 
soloz2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Western New York
Posts: 10,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 593
can you tighten those timings up a bit? If so that would help. Since you are only runing your RAM at DDR416, a modest OC. try 3-3-3-8 or 3-4-3-8. run memtest to check for stability.

if you get another stick and run dual channel you'll see a huge performance gain. not only will you double the amount of RAM you have, but you'll be able to run in dual channel.

Current Sound: ODAC > SA Reference IC > Musical Paradise MP-301 6v6 tube amp> Tekton Designs 4.1 loudspeakers

Feedback: Heatware Ebay
soloz2 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-14-2005, 04:12 AM
333mhz
 
Freaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
3-3-3-8 should work fine. Try it. My Transcend comes with 2.5-3-3-8 for DDR 400 but does 2.5-3-3-7 @ DDR440 !!! So try a tighter 3-3-3-8 first and if it fails Memtest, use ur settings.

Freaky is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off