Anything better? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-18-2005, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
aero52788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Is there any ram out there better then this FOR OVERCLOCKING for this price? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227209
I dont really want to go over that price. But if it is worth $25 extra should i go with the titanium over the platinum http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227054
if there is anything better send me the links. Is the ocz gold better thent he titanium and platinum? THANKS

aero52788 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-18-2005, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
aero52788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Basically iam going to get some ocz platinum and i dont know if if should get 2x512 or 1x1024? Keep in mind that i might upgrade in a few months to another gig of platinum

aero52788 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-18-2005, 05:32 PM
4.0ghz
 
Some_Idiot2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lozz Anjaleze
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 203
1X1024mb sticks don't usually overclock as well as 512mb sticks. So I would reccomend a good 2x512 kit of OCZ RAM (I dont know too much about OCZ RAM, so I'm not sure of which OCZ 2x512 kits OC well) for OCing.
Some_Idiot2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 12-18-2005, 05:34 PM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: nowhere
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
ditch the intel board if you plan on overclocking, they are extremely limited in bios options needed to overclock

Some people think that the X2 is a little expensive for its performance...kookoo.gif
I call 2 smp ninja.gifOpty 254'sninja.gif for less than $500 on s939 a fair deal sneaky.gif

Now folding for Team 37726 and team ArMaDa

2nd rig:
Venus - CAB2E 0547 GPMW @ 2.8 ghz and climbing
DFI ULTRA -D / 2 x 512 mb OCZ EL Platinum
6800 GS @ 542 / 1250 and climbing
Powered by OCZ Modstream 450

deathdispenser is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-18-2005, 10:51 PM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
aero52788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I was planning on it after x-mas. Do you guys think that 2gig is not really needed? If so iam willing to spend like $200 on a gig of REALLY good ram.

aero52788 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-18-2005, 10:55 PM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: nowhere
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
how much are you planning to overclock? dont toss money out on say ocz pc 5000 if youre only going to a fsb of 250... get the memory with the best timings in the ddr range you expect to overclock to is what I'm getting at lol

Some people think that the X2 is a little expensive for its performance...kookoo.gif
I call 2 smp ninja.gifOpty 254'sninja.gif for less than $500 on s939 a fair deal sneaky.gif

Now folding for Team 37726 and team ArMaDa

2nd rig:
Venus - CAB2E 0547 GPMW @ 2.8 ghz and climbing
DFI ULTRA -D / 2 x 512 mb OCZ EL Platinum
6800 GS @ 542 / 1250 and climbing
Powered by OCZ Modstream 450

deathdispenser is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off