1gb or 2gb, your opinions requested - Overclock.net

View Poll Results: Which kit of G.SKILL Ram?
G.SKILL 1gb 3 11.54%
G.SKILL 2gb 23 88.46%
Voters: 26. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 12-25-2005, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Hey everyone.

So I have a decision to make. I'm in the process of gathering parts for my new rig, specs below. I also want to start playing Battlefield 2. That would mean that the games I play are WoW, BF2, and Enemy Territory. Now I'm not sure if I want a 1gb kit, so I can OC my Opteron 144 as far as it can go, or a 2gb, which would hold me back some.

Many people make it seem like you NEED 2gb RAM for BF2. Will it even be worth playing with only 1gb, or will I just not be able to play it at super-max detail settings?

So please voice your opinions and vote, it'll help me out.

amped is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 12-25-2005, 03:08 PM
4.0ghz
 
TrAncE XD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 167
1 gig is still fine.. 2 gig is just for all the textures on high...
amped likes this.

My sig rig is for sale and I currently use my laptop. Darn schoolz!

TrAncE XD is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 12-25-2005, 03:08 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BC
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 178
BF2 will definetly benefit from 2gigs of ram
amped likes this.
|talian $tallion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 Old 12-25-2005, 03:10 PM
4.0ghz
 
TrAncE XD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 167
it would benefit a little but a good 1 gig can beat a decent 2 gig of ram. You will still be able to play bf2 great with 1 gig its just the 2gig will help you with the high textures. Also with 1 gig you can get a better oc on ur processor and run a smaller divider usually.

My sig rig is for sale and I currently use my laptop. Darn schoolz!

TrAncE XD is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 12-25-2005, 03:12 PM
Administrator
 
Chipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 21,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 590
I can run BF2 jus fine with 512mb of RAM, and my 768 made it much better. The difference between Medium and High settings in the game is not that signifigant visualy. You'd be fine with 1 gigabyte and your overclock would probably help you more the the extra RAM would.
amped likes this.

post-flame-small.gifKeep the standards high and the noise low. Do YOU have quality content?post-flame-small.gif

Can't get enough of Overclock.net? Keep up with us on Facebook!

For any time-sensitive issues, or anything pertaining to our business operations, email is a far better way to contact me than PM. Please remember you can contact any staff member via email to their username @overclocked.net.

Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

Chipp is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 12-25-2005, 03:21 PM
4.0ghz
 
bicolormoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: manchester
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
this is a real sticking point.
i have been asking the same question myself, and seen many others doing the same.
the fear is to spend, say 80%-90% of your budget to find afterward that you could /should have held out a bit and spent 100%-120% original budget to get the Ram you really need.
its a case of not knowing, and i am stuck right in the midle, like lots of other folk.
very tricky one, this.
amped likes this.

Mikes Rig : Allendale 6300 / Gigabyte ds4 / 2Gb DDR2 800Mhz Ram G-skill / X1900GT / Hiperpower 530w / Coolermaster Centron
My other rig for Grandad : 2.8Ghz Celeron D / Asrock P4i65G / 512mb pc3200 / 20gb HDD / Acer cd-rom + Fdd / 400w PSU / really small ugly case.
bicolormoth is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 12-25-2005, 03:24 PM
4.0ghz
 
Mikey122687's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicolormoth
this is a real sticking point.
i have been asking the same question myself, and seen many others doing the same.
the fear is to spend, say 80%-90% of your budget to find afterward that you could /should have held out a bit and spent 100%-120% original budget to get the Ram you really need.
its a case of not knowing, and i am stuck right in the midle, like lots of other folk.
very tricky one, this.
Let me help you solve

1GB get GSkills FX - $151
2GB get Gskills - $199

Its about $50 differences

If you got the money get the 2GB, if not the 1GB is all you need
amped likes this.


Mikey122687 is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 12-25-2005, 03:24 PM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hellas,Serres
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
2 gigs. Gskill is very good! Hit em m8!!!
amped likes this.

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Soulclaimer is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 12-25-2005, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 121
For me it's a difference of $50.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231021

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231035

Edit: Heh Mikey, got that in before me

amped is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 12-25-2005, 03:31 PM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hellas,Serres
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
$50 is nothing. Hit the 2!

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Soulclaimer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off