puzzling memory issue - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-07-2006, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Nathanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hello, i have 3gb of ddr400 pc3200 ram on my motehrboard, but the timing frequency is 157.9 mhz. it was 201.mhz but has gone down to that, it also was 100mhz at one point, this has rather puzzled me, i changed the settings in bios to allow 200mhz as maximum and it worked but then went back to 157.9mhz when i next went on my pc. any ideas as to what is wrong?

Nathanator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-07-2006, 03:05 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Durham,nc
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
do you have amd cool and quiet enabled?


cdub998 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-07-2006, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Nathanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
yes i believe it is enabled

Nathanator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 04-07-2006, 03:13 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Durham,nc
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Try disabling it and see if that works. I know that it overrides your bios when it starts working so it kills oc's. So maybe it is messing with your ram.


cdub998 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-07-2006, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Nathanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ok thanks, what does cool and quiet actually do? i know the name implies what you think it would do but i dont really notice any difference

Nathanator is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-07-2006, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Nathanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
there is no cool and quiet option on this mobo, also i am now only using one of my 1gb sticks and the frequency is up to 201mhz, which has lead me 2 believe this is a memory conflict, i am using two different makes but this hasnt been a problem until now, is there anything else it could be?

Nathanator is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-08-2006, 07:52 AM
Going Broke Overclocking
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1182
Post the SPD timings on the RAM.
Some different RAM moduled don't play well together but speed varations is odd!
That MB uses the Uli chip so the Name of Cool N Quiet may be different... if it even has it. Sorry, the only thing I know about ULI is that nVidia bought them out!

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif
The Duke is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-08-2006, 08:20 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Durham,nc
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
I think you just have to remove the cool n quiet drivers from windows. I can't find it in my bios either.


cdub998 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-08-2006, 08:24 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Nathanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
the spd timings are 3, 3, 3 ,8 on all modules
i now have just 2 1gb modules in and the frequency has stayed at 201 mhz, it seems like it goes down when i insert a third module in even tho they are all the pc3200 and ddr 400

Nathanator is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-08-2006, 09:03 AM
Going Broke Overclocking
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1182
Some MBs reduce the speed with 3 modules by default!

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif
The Duke is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off