Use Mouse With USB 2.0 Or 3.0 Port ? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 08-06-2012, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
My board has Asmedia USB 3.0 Controller as well as the Generic USB 2.0 controller. I know they are compatible, but is one controller better than the other ? Any disadvantage to using the Asmedia 3.0 ?

mothman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 08-06-2012, 03:37 PM
SFF Enthusiast
 
ghostrider85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 329
mouse doesn't need usb 3.0. same concept as why HDD doesn't need SATA III 6gb/s.

ghostrider85 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 08-06-2012, 03:47 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
What ?..............I know mice don't need or benefit from USB 3.0, I just wanted to know if the Asmedia controller was as good or better than the generic one.
As for HDD Sata II doesn't need Sata III, but Sata III SSD sure as hell do.

mothman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 08-06-2012, 03:51 PM
SFF Enthusiast
 
ghostrider85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 329
the asmedia usb 3.0 CONTROLLER is for the USB 3.0 PORT ONLY, the generic usb 2.0 CONTROLLER is for the USB 2.0 PORT ONLY, they can't be interchanged, you can't plug your mouse to 2.0 port and use the 3.0 asmedia controller

ghostrider85 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 08-06-2012, 04:41 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
No, No, No...........Put the bong down and listen to what I said man. I didn't ask if the Asmedia can control the USB 2.0 port, I simply ask if plugging the mouse into the Asmedia 3.0 port is better or worse than the Generic 2.0 port......Jesus !

mothman is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 08-06-2012, 04:45 PM
PC Gamer
 
duox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mothman View Post

No, No, No...........Put the bong down and listen to what I said man. I didn't ask if the Asmedia can control the USB 2.0 port, I simply ask if plugging the mouse into the Asmedia 3.0 port is better or worse than the Generic 2.0 port......Jesus !


I don't think there should be any difference unless someone releases a mouse that says it takes advantage of it , and even then it would most likely do nothing. I've seen nothing where anyone showed any benefit or loss one way or the other in my searches. Could be wrong though because I have not searched hard, just a couple days of googling.

duox is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 08-06-2012, 04:49 PM
WaterCooler
 
karod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I can't imagine performance differences.

One thing I noticed. My Fanatec wheel doesn't work on my Asmedia USB3 ports. It only works on the USB2 ports.
So I just freed a USB2 port for the wheel and put the Thrustmaster TH8RS into the Asmedia USB3 port. That works fine. But I guess that is more a firmware problem with the fanatec wheel, because the Thrustmaster shifter works well with the asmedia usb3 port.

Performance in terms of throughput is not important for a mouse, so polling or something like that is more important.
The only difference is that the USB2 ports are directly connected to the Z68 chipset for example. While the asmedia may be routed through somewhere first.

karod is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 08-06-2012, 04:50 PM
4.0ghz
 
listen to remix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88

Use it with the USB 2.0 and save the USB 3.0 slot for something else.


listen to remix is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 08-06-2012, 04:51 PM
SFF Enthusiast
 
ghostrider85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by mothman View Post

No, No, No...........Put the bong down and listen to what I said man. I didn't ask if the Asmedia can control the USB 2.0 port, I simply ask if plugging the mouse into the Asmedia 3.0 port is better or worse than the Generic 2.0 port......Jesus !

3.0 is better than 2.0, but the mouse don't need 3.0, 2.0 is just fine, there will be no difference.

ghostrider85 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 08-06-2012, 04:52 PM
WaterCooler
 
Traches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: KY
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Also 3.0 is more likely to have driver issues; 2.0 is rock solid. (I had some trouble with my 3.0 ports when first setting up my computer.)

And yeah, as said before there's no benefit to a mouse; save the port for something else.

LOOP ORDER DOESN'T MATTER.
Traches is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off