LightBoost, G-SYNC, Turbo240: 120Hz Strobe Backlight LCDs / No Motion Blur! - Page 236 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2351 of 2929 Old 12-18-2013, 08:25 AM
Commodore 64
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by kskwerl View Post

What kind of ICC profile should I be using using lightboost on the Asus ASUS VG248QE and monitor settings etc? I feel like something is off

http://pcmonitors.info/reviews/asus-vg248qe

NVidia - http://pcmonitors.info/icc/ASUS%20VG248QE%20Nvidia.icm
AMD - http://pcmonitors.info/icc/ASUS%20VG248QE%20AMD.icm
Quote:
1) Download the appropriate ICC profile below and save it to a suitable place -

2) Set the monitor to ‘Standard Mode’ at 144Hz. The following settings were used to create the profiles but feel free to adjust if necessary -

Splendid= Standard Mode

Brightness= 24 (gave 160 cd/m2 on our unit, adjust as required)

Contrast= 75

Color Temp= User Mode

Red= 100

Green= 90

Blue= 89


3) Follow these instructions on how to activate the ICC profile. In that article you’ll also find a link to download a useful and very small utility called ‘Display Profile’ which you can use to toggle between ICC profiles. This is useful if you want to switch to default colour settings (essentially no ICC profile active) when running certain applications (games etc.) that don’t use the profiles properly.

http://pcmonitors.info/articles/using-icc-profiles-in-windows

JackNaylorPE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2352 of 2929 Old 12-18-2013, 10:25 AM
PC Gamer
 
CYBER-SNIPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cyber-Space
Posts: 799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrejhon View Post

I'm connected by DVI, and am getting all the advanced features. You just must make sure you're using dual-link DVI, and sometimes the graphics cards have two DVI ports (one of them that don't work at 120Hz).

Glad to know you like your FG2421!

I guess my old DVI cable is not dual link? So I've ordered a new one just to test it all out!!! LOL wink.gif

Q. Is there an easy way to test the frequency/signal strength of cables???

And when's that FG2421 review coming out, your loyal fan-base eagerly awaits!!! thumb.gif
CYBER-SNIPA is offline  
post #2353 of 2929 Old 12-18-2013, 10:38 AM
Commodore 64
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by CYBER-SNIPA View Post

I guess my old DVI cable is not dual link? So I've ordered a new one just to test it all out!!! LOL wink.gif

Q. Is there an easy way to test the frequency/signal strength of cables???

And when's that FG2421 review coming out, your loyal fan-base eagerly awaits!!! thumb.gif

Dual Link cables generally come with the 120/144 Hz monitors

JackNaylorPE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2354 of 2929 Old 12-18-2013, 11:21 AM
News Fiend
 
Scorpion667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrejhon View Post

Personally I prefer GSYNC if I'm unable to match anywhere near the "one-strobe-per-frame" required for motion fluidity nirvana. Once framerates hits framerate=Hz, I begin preferring my strobe backlights (e.g. Eizo FG2421). But getting to that nirvana is insanely expensive (e.g. GTX Titan + Eizo FG2421). Even at $400, a GSYNC experience is potentially cheaper if you play new games (how are you going to get 120fps in Battlefield 4?), and it also includes the LightBoost sequel too, that John Carmack mentioned.

This is how:



Minimum FPS never dips below 123 even in 64man servers with a single 680 at 1300/7000

Over 50 Fraps 180s FPS captures I've only seen 117 once.

Minimum FPS is actually higher if I remove my 125FPS cap through game console.
Also the card runs cooler with cap since I'm never at 100% usage. And since it's a lightning, the LN2 BIOS keeps my GPU clocks locked, they don't jump around.

When I'm scanning my screen for headshots at Mach 3 my brain phases out graphics details. It's just scanning for geometric shapes like head and torso continuously. When you play at a high level, the moment you stop scanning to admire the scenery, you die. I'm not trying to sound like an elitist but this is what actually happens.
As such GFX are not needed for twitch games in my experience.

RTS is completely different, I spend most of my time planning and get to enjoy the GFX etc. But also in those games 120FPS at 120hz strobed is not needed.
Battlelog: udovoodoo

Scorpion667 is offline  
post #2355 of 2929 Old 12-18-2013, 01:07 PM
Commodore 64
 
reqq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Ye exactly Scorpion667. Thats how people how done since the dawn of games lol. Also when mantle is out you prolly only need a 7970 to reach steady 120 fps. Mantle is out "soon" according to an AMD employe.
reqq is offline  
post #2356 of 2929 Old 12-18-2013, 01:23 PM
News Fiend
 
Scorpion667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by reqq View Post

Ye exactly Scorpion667. Thats how people how done since the dawn of games lol. Also when mantle is out you prolly only need a 7970 to reach steady 120 fps. Mantle is out "soon" according to an AMD employe.

Hey actually the 7970 already out performs most 680's in BF4 already. I am guessing after Mantle, the 7970 would trade blows with the 780.

Kind of regret not going AMD since Nvidia drivers have very high DPC latency. But once I stop being lazy and install my damn waterblock I doubt many 7970's will come close to my 680 at 1400Mhz.

Subjectively, 120FPS @ 120hz with Lightboost is the best gaming experience I've ever had, hands down. Feels so fluid. Unfortunately I'll have to buy a new monitor at some point as I'm starting to notice the XL2420T's flaws more and more. Inverse ghosting and sometimes trailing.

After reading many Eizo reviews they do seem amazing, don't get me wrong but the VG248QE with Lightboost is a better pick for my needs. Lower input lag at the cost of significantly worse colors and contrast than the Eizo. Even without looking at the price, it's an obvious choice to me. I just have to get Vega to remove the matte coating for me and I'll be set. Too broke now though, stupid holidays =P

Scorpion667 is offline  
post #2357 of 2929 Old 12-18-2013, 01:29 PM
PC Gamer
 
Deadeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrejhon View Post

Hmm. This is a support question that should be asked on ToastyX's forum (monitortests.com), but try running it manually first. Windows SmartScreen may have something to do with it, if you're using Windows 8.

What do you think can you do photo work with Eizo at Turbo 240hz compared to Dell U2412M?

Deadeye is offline  
post #2358 of 2929 Old 12-18-2013, 02:44 PM
PC Gamer
 
CYBER-SNIPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cyber-Space
Posts: 799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackNaylorPE View Post

Dual Link cables generally come with the 120/144 Hz monitors

Hence why I don't have one, but from tomorrow I surely will!!! LOL wink.gif
CYBER-SNIPA is offline  
post #2359 of 2929 Old 12-18-2013, 04:17 PM
 
Harrywang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scorpion667 View Post

Hey actually the 7970 already out performs most 680's in BF4 already. I am guessing after Mantle, the 7970 would trade blows with the 780.

Kind of regret not going AMD since Nvidia drivers have very high DPC latency. But once I stop being lazy and install my damn waterblock I doubt many 7970's will come close to my 680 at 1400Mhz.

Subjectively, 120FPS @ 120hz with Lightboost is the best gaming experience I've ever had, hands down. Feels so fluid. Unfortunately I'll have to buy a new monitor at some point as I'm starting to notice the XL2420T's flaws more and more. Inverse ghosting and sometimes trailing.

After reading many Eizo reviews they do seem amazing, don't get me wrong but the VG248QE with Lightboost is a better pick for my needs. Lower input lag at the cost of significantly worse colors and contrast than the Eizo. Even without looking at the price, it's an obvious choice to me. I just have to get Vega to remove the matte coating for me and I'll be set. Too broke now though, stupid holidays =P

Hi, I am looking for the lowest 120hz monitor. does the vg24qe have the lowest input lag out of all the 120hz+ monitors? And yeah where I live the asus is the lowest priced 120hz+ monitor.
Harrywang is offline  
post #2360 of 2929 Old 12-18-2013, 04:23 PM
WaterCooler
 
Hefner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Is sufficient vram important for 120hz output? What is recommended? thumb.gif

Hefner is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off