4K 60hz vs 1440p 120 hz - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 Old 11-24-2013, 02:26 AM
Overclocker
 
KrazyKap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Dual 290 kills 770... and 780 Ti in turn. I admit, a single 780 Ti can get OK frame rates on most games at 4K on the highest settings, but you would definitely require two for a comfortable 60 FPS, and then some more OC performance to keep that up across all games.

For the price of two 780 Tis you could grab three 290s with cash to spare though, so if you really are after that 4K 60 FPS or 1440p 120 FPS, I would not go with the 780 Ti route unless you can happily afford 2 with the intention of getting 3.

Also note that Hawaii chips seem to scale extremely well in crossfire (from what I've seen - and there are always exceptions).

However, that is all a different discussion.

Also known as RipperRopper3000 thumb.gif
KrazyKap is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 Old 11-24-2013, 02:39 AM
 
Spartan F8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by KrazyKap View Post

Dual 290 kills 770... and 780 Ti in turn. I admit, a single 780 Ti can get OK frame rates on most games at 4K on the highest settings, but you would definitely require two for a comfortable 60 FPS, and then some more OC performance to keep that up across all games.

For the price of two 780 Tis you could grab three 290s with cash to spare though, so if you really are after that 4K 60 FPS or 1440p 120 FPS, I would not go with the 780 Ti route unless you can happily afford 2 with the intention of getting 3.

Also note that Hawaii chips seem to scale extremely well in crossfire (from what I've seen - and there are always exceptions).

However, that is all a different discussion.

Yes a very different discussion, one that can go into a brand/cost war thread filled with AMD vs nvidia(or intel) crap. rolleyes.gif.

Maybe it would be better to get on topic. Anyone else have first hand experience with 4k@60 and 1440p@120hz?
Spartan F8 is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 11-24-2013, 02:43 AM
Overclocker
 
KrazyKap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spartan F8 View Post

Maybe it would be better to get on topic. Anyone else have first hand experience with 4k@60 and 1440p@120hz?

I think a lot of people around here might, but I doubt many people would have experienced both. And really, they're the only people who could make the comparison which is unfortunate.

Also known as RipperRopper3000 thumb.gif
KrazyKap is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 17 Old 11-24-2013, 02:44 AM
Security Sleuth
 
caenlen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Strip Club
Posts: 6,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 172
ever since i started playing blops 2 at 120 fps in 1440p i can never go back to 60 fps, my 780 can hit 120 fps smooth too the entire time i game.... more demanding games im ok with 60 fps - but yeah
caenlen is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 11-24-2013, 12:11 PM
Commodore 64
 
dpoverlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Hey guys don't knock it until you tried it...

I play at 1600p surround 8050 x 1600 with bezel correction. This is theoretically a higher resolution than 4k.

When you go over 1440p you really want a Titan or something with at least 6GB of ram. One of the things you have to be aware is you really do not NEED AA when you are on a 30" at this resolution. If I had AA newer games would bring the machine down hard. I.E Metro Light last Light with high EE yes I do get 15-20 FPS. However with less to no AA I cruise with everything else maxed out at 30-60FPS. This is coming from a game which is BAD at SLI.

Older games like TF2 no problem, newer games like assassin's creed. Everything but AA is maxed out and I am fine.

My system does not even have the latest mobo / CPU since my i7-930 is cranking it and killing it. I will most likely upgrade this portion this time next year.

Hope that helps!

Now if you are still stuck...

120hz... I would love to have this so I could test out 3D but in reality I do not plan to use 3d since I go surround. However, if you do go 3d you would want a 120hz monitor. IF you are on a budget check out NCX's threads in Hardforum he has great advice. He rec'd not getting the Dell 30" series but I got them anyways for the Real EState.
dpoverlord is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 11-24-2013, 12:16 PM
Overclocker
 
brucethemoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 453
You know you don't have to use MSAA at 4K... SMAA or even no AA would be fine, and games would run perfectly well on a single card.
dpoverlord likes this.

Sent from my Sig Rig
brucethemoose is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 11-24-2013, 01:32 PM
Commodore 64
 
dpoverlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by brucethemoose View Post

You know you don't have to use MSAA at 4K... SMAA or even no AA would be fine, and games would run perfectly well on a single card.

Exactly, you want AA on lets say 1080p. For the performance hit at this resolution there is no need for it
dpoverlord is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off