Any opinions or reviews on the new Dell S2417DG? - Page 32 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #311 of 1572 Old 09-27-2016, 01:28 PM
333mhz
 
Flamous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post

Assuming you can even get 3d vision 2 enabled, yes.
The hard part is getting 3d vision 2 enabled. Masterotaku has 3d vision 2 glasses and an emitter.

I have been thinking about getting vision 2 too. Not sure its worth it though. Have been reading mixed reviews on it.

Flamous is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #312 of 1572 Old 09-27-2016, 01:39 PM
4.0ghz
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 4,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 357
12:33 PM - masterotaku: When I switch to these custom resolutions, they are in Lightboost mode.
12:33 PM - masterotaku: Even with 3D totally disabled.
12:33 PM - Falkentyne: try this
12:33 PM - masterotaku: But when I enable and disable 3D again, and then enable G-Sync, they are in ULMB state by default.
12:34 PM - masterotaku: When they are in Lightboost mode, they switch to ULMB+G-sync in games.


So, can any of you guys unlock stereoscopic 3D by changing the monitor ID in toastyX CRU to ACI27F8 and then activating Lightboost on the desktop?

*edit*

http://forums.blurbusters.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2883

Post by masterotaku » Today, 11:37

Steps (I have finally confirmed them with another custom resolution):

How to do this (having a 3D Vision kit is necessary):

1- Enable 3D Vision and make sure Lightboost (not ULMB) is enabled in the desktop, using the "always" option.
2- Create a 120Hz custom resolution. I have tried 2389x1344 and 2528x1422.
3- Switch to G-Sync in the Nvidia CP without disabling 3D Vision first.
4- Now that custom resolution is locked into this G-Sync + ULMB mode (the monitor OSD will say "ULMB 120Hz").
Falkentyne is online now  
post #313 of 1572 Old 09-27-2016, 06:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MistaSparkul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
So this doesn't work at native resolution at all?

MistaSparkul is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #314 of 1572 Old 09-27-2016, 07:12 PM
4.0ghz
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 4,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Nope. It seems to be a driver bug or a gsync module bug. I don't know which.
It's similar to on the old original 1080p lightboost monitors, where you can get Lightboost working on an AMD video card at 60hz refresh rate, double strobed. On an Nvidia video card, if you had lightboost "always enabled" in 2D, it would double strobe at refresh rates lower than 100hz, AFAIK.

tl;dr version (not):

On an Nvidia video card, the NVCP can force Lightboost always on, at all refresh rates (60hz, 85hz, anything) as long as you "unlock" it first, via the "3d" vertical totals which tell the monitor to enable lightboost (1138 VT @100hz, 1149 VT @ 120hz, etc). But once it's signaled to be unlocked, the NVCP can keep it enabled all the time. It would single strobe at the known refresh rates (100hz, 110hz, 120hz).

If you do the unplug trick where you unlock Lightboost on the Nvidia card first, then switch it to an AMD video card without removing the AC power, you can then force Lightboost on again via the three target vertical totals (1138, 1143, 1149) for 100, 110 and 120hz on an AMD card.

The monitor would not allow Lightboost to be enabled at an incorrect refresh rate at the target vertical totals, e.g. 60hz at 1149 VT. However the monitor only checked for the known vertical totals. But if you INCREASED the vertical total past 1149, then depending on the monitor firmware, it might avoid the refresh rate check. E.g. on Benq monitors, you could force 60hz double strobed Lightboost by using VT 1155 (which forces 120hz lightboost at 60hz refresh rate). However this VT Did not work on an Asus VG248QE...you needed VT 1179 or VT 1180 to get 60hz lightboost.

/tl;dr

This ULMB+Gsync bug seems similar to the 60hz 1080p lightboost bug with >1149 VT's that no one knew about back then.
Falkentyne is online now  
post #315 of 1572 Old 09-28-2016, 12:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
l88bastar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Van Down by the River
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 92
As someone who traditionally dislikes surround landscape setups, I have to admit these are pretty amazing in surround landscape!

TitanXP SLI with all settings @ ultra keep a steady 150+ fps. The picture quality moves like buttery glass!

puhadk likes this.

Yeah like a really bad song on the radio that the station keeps repeating and repeating.
In time you find yourself tapping your foot and singing along.
It's like being programed.
l88bastar is online now  
post #316 of 1572 Old 09-28-2016, 10:52 AM
 
Dantheman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do you guys have the response time set to "normal"? What is the "normal" response time on this monitor? I guess the 1ms is only on "extreme". Are there any drawbacks when setting the rt on max?
Dantheman1 is offline  
post #317 of 1572 Old 09-28-2016, 10:55 AM
 
outofmyheadyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I recieved my S2417DG and unfortunately the text is too small without 125% scaling, it`s nice and fast though.
outofmyheadyo is offline  
post #318 of 1572 Old 09-28-2016, 11:06 AM
 
PAHK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yep, here also using 125% scaling. But using Chrome looks like google ignores scaling setting of Windows (10). Set it by hand in the options menu so it stays locked at 125%. And at some older programs that become messy i tell them to ignore high-dpi scaling in compatible tab, which makes them small but not blurry...
PAHK is offline  
post #319 of 1572 Old 09-28-2016, 11:55 AM
 
outofmyheadyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I will probably return mine and go back to 27" because 2560x1440 is way too small for the 23" screen.
outofmyheadyo is offline  
post #320 of 1572 Old 09-28-2016, 12:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brooklyn Park, Mini Soda
Posts: 76,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dantheman1 View Post

Do you guys have the response time set to "normal"? What is the "normal" response time on this monitor? I guess the 1ms is only on "extreme". Are there any drawbacks when setting the rt on max?

 

Typically a setting like that is around 4ms. The highest is usually the 1ms response time, but 1ms is useless unless you like the ghosting that goes with it.

 

I have had the Acer XB241H, the ASUS PG248Q and now the AOC G2460PG. All of them have a 1ms response time capability, but I don't really like using it because of the ghosting. If "ghosting" isn't the correct term, then it's just when objects have a trail. I hate that.

Dantheman1 likes this.

 Semi-Classic Firefox Add-ons Manager (CSS script)

 

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.

TwoCables is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off