How do you calibrate? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 02-29-2008, 08:36 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
gex80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dirtiest placeon earth NJ
Posts: 3,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Since I'm purchasing a new TV, I want to get the best colors I can. I could have geek squad do it for me, but then that means I will have to pay them 300 dollars. I'm pretty sure if i can put a computer together and overclock my video card and ram, i can calibrate a TV and not need a professional to do it. So are there guides and what what tools do i need?

Professional calibration from places like best buy seem like a huge rip off. I asked my managers would they get it and they said no. One said yes but he was just trying to get me to spend money on services.

FYI: Best buy makes money off of services and warranties, not the actual product themselves. just in case you didn't know.
gex80 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 02-29-2008, 08:39 PM
4.0ghz
 
jph1589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 224
I just bought a new Samnsung 40" LCD and my neighbor brought over his calibration DVD. We ran it through the tests and I didn't have to change a thing to be perfectly calibrated with the DVD samples.

So I guess for that TV at least, it was a waste of time/effort (it took a long time).

If you are overclocking, read this please.... http://www.overclock.net/intel-memor...rclocking.html

jph1589 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off