Using linksys router with a different power adapter - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-28-2013, 07:27 AM - Thread Starter
4.0 GHz
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Dont ask why...
Will it harm plugging a router with a power adapter which is 12v 1A instead of its original 12v 0.5A?

ocDisaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-28-2013, 07:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brooklyn Park, Mini Soda
Posts: 76,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 6212

It might. That's a difference of 6W (12 x 1 vs. 12 x 0.5). I'm not sure, but I think that it will try to feed it 12W instead of the 6W of the original.


 Semi-Classic Firefox Add-ons Manager (CSS script)

 

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.

TwoCables is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-28-2013, 09:47 AM
 
beers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 14,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 893
Nah. Voltage is the one you want to watch for. Devices will pull whatever amount of current that they will. If there's not enough then it won't work, but if the pool is at least large enough then the adapter will be able to provide the amount of power the device needs.

beers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 09-28-2013, 09:55 AM
4.0 GHz
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MO, USA
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Had to do this on my linksys wrt54g using a wallwart for an ISP westell dsl modem. Voltage was the same but the amps were .5 off IIRC. Been working fine for over a year now.
johnny.dot.exe is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-28-2013, 11:42 PM
Multi-Quote King
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 845
The amp rating is only the "maximum" that your particular adapter can handle (without the voltage dropping - but that's a different story.)

It doesn't matter which adapter you use; your device (router) is going to "demand" the same amount of current (amps) from any adapter that's rated at 12V. It doesn't matter if you have a 12V @100A power adapter. That would just mean that the adapter *could* supply 100A if it had to, but your router is never going to do that, obviously.

A bigger concern would be if the amperage rating were too low. In that case, your voltage would drop below 12V, and your device would not work.

"I just talk the way I see things... If that's offensive to you... I'm sorry; you're a loser." - Michael Savage

"But you would be amazed by how many people think that the only reason to have a computer is to play games, and that playing games is all that anyone with a computer does." - dangerousHobo
The Hundred Gunner is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-29-2013, 09:54 AM
Windows Wrangler
 
Techie007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 340
    beers and The Hundred Gunner have their electronics right (for a power supply, output voltage must match, current is fine as long as it is equal or higher than the original).

    Let me add one thing though: Not all power adapters have the same polarity, even if the output plug is the correct size.  Most DC powered devices and most DC power adapters have a symbol somewhere that shows whether + is in the center (tip) and – is on the outside (ring), or vice versa.  If the adapter's polarity is wrong, something will probably blow as soon as you connect it to the wall and to the device.

Techie007 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-29-2013, 12:17 PM
Multi-Quote King
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 845
And make sure if the original was DC, that your new one is also DC. There are AC power adapters that are rated at 12V, so just make sure you're using the same thing.
Techie007 likes this.

"I just talk the way I see things... If that's offensive to you... I'm sorry; you're a loser." - Michael Savage

"But you would be amazed by how many people think that the only reason to have a computer is to play games, and that playing games is all that anyone with a computer does." - dangerousHobo
The Hundred Gunner is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off