Drop Connection Under load - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 09-22-2006, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
5 gigs of hert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 7,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 511
I have a d-link wireles router, its pretty cool i guess. Its linked to my secondary rig found in my sig. The thing is, everytime i put my system under load, like say play a game the internet base will drop connection. I'm on the primary rig, and I leave msn on while I go play NFS or something...if i minimize NFS I'll be logged out of MSN, getting the error that I "Lost Connection"

Is there anything I can do to stop this? I'm past the bring it back stage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.derp go_quote.gif
I would lap id the heat pipes n aluminum next them are uneven to get the even.
drunken.gif
Kopi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 09-24-2006, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
5 gigs of hert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 7,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Yeah didn't think anybody could help me...thanks anyways ocn

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.derp go_quote.gif
I would lap id the heat pipes n aluminum next them are uneven to get the even.
drunken.gif
Kopi is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 09-24-2006, 07:49 PM
With great difficulty
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 5,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Does the entire connection drop out or does only that PC lose its connection?

rabidgnome229 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 09-24-2006, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
5 gigs of hert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 7,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 511
lol bumps work great..

The internet will just cut out, for half a second...this is just enough time to disconnect me from a race online in NFS, or to constantly bump me off MSN...which really sucks. Its just the wired PC that loses connection, not the laptop which is wireless

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.derp go_quote.gif
I would lap id the heat pipes n aluminum next them are uneven to get the even.
drunken.gif
Kopi is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 09-24-2006, 07:54 PM
With great difficulty
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 5,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 643
First thing I'd check would be your ethernet drivers. Just to clarify, when the PC is under load (meaning not the connection) the connection drops out? As in - are you fine while downloading stuff but not while gaming?

rabidgnome229 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 09-24-2006, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter
5 gigs of hert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 7,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Either. When I'm gaming, I'll drop connection, but while downloading I'm fine. Seems like CPU load makes it drop connection...but also sometimes it'll drop randomly. Thats confusing...here's a summary lol

-Under CPU load (like NFS or BF)
-Random lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.derp go_quote.gif
I would lap id the heat pipes n aluminum next them are uneven to get the even.
drunken.gif
Kopi is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 09-24-2006, 07:56 PM
Overclocker
 
mycomputersucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Lets test this theory with Prime95 run that and watch your connection to see if it's just the games doing this or it's the actual pc doing it.

Google Chrome Club
mycomputersucks is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 09-24-2006, 07:57 PM - Thread Starter
5 gigs of hert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 7,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Well it didnt do it before I got my wireless router...but I've returned that twice to get new ones and it still drops under NFS MW load...OCCT makes it drop aswell

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.derp go_quote.gif
I would lap id the heat pipes n aluminum next them are uneven to get the even.
drunken.gif
Kopi is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 09-24-2006, 08:04 PM
With great difficulty
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 5,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Did your pc behave similarly before you bought the router? Did you install any software when you bought the router? This sounds like it will end up being a PC-side error given that the other PC is unaffected.

For troubleshooting purposes - wire the laptop to the router to see if it can cause/be affected by the drop. Plug the PC into a different port on the router, too.

rabidgnome229 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 09-24-2006, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
5 gigs of hert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 7,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 511
OK, the PC is being used my father for buisness at the moment, but I'll try hooking it up to the laptop and running an instance of Prime. I didn't have any of these problems before the router, but the router cost me 60 bucks so it should be decent

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.derp go_quote.gif
I would lap id the heat pipes n aluminum next them are uneven to get the even.
drunken.gif
Kopi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off