Cat6 confused wiring - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 13 Old 09-07-2013, 10:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Inviso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Armed Forces, Korea
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I just fail to see why a specific wiring pattern that has very minuscule amounts of wire exposed at the end could actually have any significant effect on actual performance of the wire.



Here is an interesting piece of information for you all.

Between the British and US EOD forces, there are two completely different trains of thought concerning wire antennae.

The British EOD technical data says that it is safer to leave blasting cap and fuze/electrical components un-shunted as they can not complete a circuit.

The US EOD technical data says that it is safer to twist the exposed wires together as to create a closed loop and then insulate that end with electrical tape and then foil so it is not exposed to stray EMR.

Either way, there haven't been any reported problems with either school of thought, or practical application, and is still in use today.

So I'm very, very curious as to why this "industry standard" is specific as to wires being in a very specific order, and what the actual performance differences are compared to them being wired in a random order.
Inviso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 13 Old 09-07-2013, 01:40 PM
PC Gamer
 
Wildcard36qs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 4,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Definitely wire it either T568A or T568B on both ends. That was what I meant, sorry. Do not just wire it any ol kind of way.

In terms of why, each pair is twisted differently. Sure CAT5, CAT5e, CAT6, CAT6a all look the same, but there are reasons why you can't do 10Gb on Cat5. The wires are twisted at different intervals all to prevent crosstalk. It does make a difference. Don't ignore standards because you don't think there is a reason to them.
Inviso likes this.

Wildcard36qs is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 09-08-2013, 01:32 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
pure_cure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I phoned a friend to walk me through it. Got it wrong a bunch of times but mainly because I wasn't forcing it all the way through. In the end i got it up and running. Googled the diagram

pure_cure is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off