Laying Cat6 Cable beside 110v, Romex 10/2 cable in PVC Conduit - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 11-27-2013, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
 
roblyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
We're hearing conflicting opinions on the efficacy of doing this but here's the dirt. The lines are going to an outbuilding where we have lights and a tele only. The Cat6 (UTP) is to hook up to the laptop to tele to stream Monday and Thursday Night Football games via Slingbox.

Distance is no more than 150ft. Ideally, we can lay them together in 8" wide ditch. We have alternative power via solar and gen backup, running through a mod sine wave inverter, if that matters.

What think thee regarding interference and such?

Thanks!
roblyon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 11-27-2013, 04:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bigmac11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ct
Posts: 1,731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Is this going to be inspected by a building official? If so it won't fly.

bigmac11 is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 11-29-2013, 12:14 PM
 
CloudedVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hmmm....

I remember a job i did with a solar power company where we did a similar thing.

We build a 30kw solar grid 400ft from the nearest building, and ran 440v stranded copper (2 x 000 gauge) along side a shielded cat6 and I get full bandwidth speeds most of the time. We ran 23 gauge solid core shielded cat6.

Keep in mind that it is not necessarily the voltage that creates the interference, it's the amps. we do not get full network throughput (about 2/3 total speed when peak power usage is traveling the power line) even with the highest end shielded cat6 we could find, but we have a 400ft run, and significantly more amps than your scenario it seems (I do not necessarily want to assume).

I think you will be fine with network speeds if you go with nothing less than shielded cat5.

We did not have any inspection issues doing this (I would recommend making sure for your area). cat5/6 is considered low voltage, and is not restricted to be ran along side a high amp power line for my project in it's location.
CloudedVision is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off