Help my network problem - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-20-2008, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
SR-2 can do 5 GiggleHertz
 
H3||scr3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ontario
Posts: 10,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Hi, this morning my PC hung on windows load, @ the Desktop, and all my USB devices went dead (mouse keyboard) tried safe mode etc, still couldn't blow through the issue

So I threw in the disk, did a repair and it magically boots again. But the issue I'm having is that its not obtaining an IP from my network meaning its not getting any internet. (This is posted from my sister's lappy).

The topology is like this
FiOS in -> Gateway ->Switch -> My PC

It worked just fine yesterday... anywho, I've tried a repair, and an ipconfig, both no results, I can't even connect via IP to my router/gateway. All the connections are firmly secured, does anyone have any ideas or tips? It probably something stupid. Oh and the entire network is under one name the default MSHOME

CISSP, ITIL v3 Foundations, Security+, Linux+, Cloud+, Server+, Project+, Network+, A+, LPIC-1
Working on: CCENT

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  10 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Migration_Sherpa  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

H3||scr3am is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-20-2008, 08:41 PM
SPARC me up
 
killabytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: /home/Canada
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Direct connection work? ====>Internet=====>PC?

Want access to a Solaris server? For free? Send me a PM!

Chimp Challenge Participant 

killabytes is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-20-2008, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
SR-2 can do 5 GiggleHertz
 
H3||scr3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ontario
Posts: 10,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 315
its not vista... no simplific masterpiece of a lie to all the blonde working moms who use their new vista infested PCs...

its not PC NAME -> Network -> INTERWEBZ... thats like the bare bones lamen terms...

EDIT: I'm goint to try a modem/router reboot in the morning any other Ideas are welcome, simply post them here, I'll check them out in the morning...

CISSP, ITIL v3 Foundations, Security+, Linux+, Cloud+, Server+, Project+, Network+, A+, LPIC-1
Working on: CCENT

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  10 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Migration_Sherpa  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

H3||scr3am is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 02-21-2008, 10:04 AM
Procrastinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southwest Virginia
Posts: 3,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by H3||scr3am View Post
Hi, this morning my PC hung on windows load, @ the Desktop, and all my USB devices went dead (mouse keyboard) tried safe mode etc, still couldn't blow through the issue

So I threw in the disk, did a repair and it magically boots again. But the issue I'm having is that its not obtaining an IP from my network meaning its not getting any internet. (This is posted from my sister's lappy).

The topology is like this
FiOS in -> Gateway ->Switch -> My PC

It worked just fine yesterday... anywho, I've tried a repair, and an ipconfig, both no results, I can't even connect via IP to my router/gateway. All the connections are firmly secured, does anyone have any ideas or tips? It probably something stupid. Oh and the entire network is under one name the default MSHOME

1) try reinstalling your mobo lan drivers
2) list any security you're running on your router
3) reinstall windows. If the issue isn't related to security or drivers, then mostly likly the TCP\\IP settings in windows are busted. There is a manual way to replace them, but i forget how. Doing a repair install doesn't replace all windows files (TCP\\IP files aren't replaced) so this is probalby your issue IMO.
H3||scr3am likes this.

All That Remains
As if this could change us,
Our roots are deeper than that.
Born and bred the masters of Ourselves,
And of our hearts.
Take the best of me and
Watch my world fall apart.
Still I remain steadfast in my heart
HatesFury is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-21-2008, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
SR-2 can do 5 GiggleHertz
 
H3||scr3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ontario
Posts: 10,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 315
I'd Really Like to avoid a reinstall...
security on the router, um closed ports, although I have certain ports opened for my PC, for games and such.

CISSP, ITIL v3 Foundations, Security+, Linux+, Cloud+, Server+, Project+, Network+, A+, LPIC-1
Working on: CCENT

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  10 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Migration_Sherpa  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

H3||scr3am is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-21-2008, 10:57 AM
Procrastinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southwest Virginia
Posts: 3,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by H3||scr3am View Post
I'd Really Like to avoid a reinstall...
security on the router, um closed ports, although I have certain ports opened for my PC, for games and such.
PM RonindeBeatrice he know show to manually replace the TCP\\IP.sys and WinSock files.
ohh yeah, and replacing those files manually is probably 50\\50. I'd put my money on you having to install.

All That Remains
As if this could change us,
Our roots are deeper than that.
Born and bred the masters of Ourselves,
And of our hearts.
Take the best of me and
Watch my world fall apart.
Still I remain steadfast in my heart
HatesFury is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-21-2008, 11:15 AM - Thread Starter
SR-2 can do 5 GiggleHertz
 
H3||scr3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ontario
Posts: 10,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Thanks Hates driver uninstall reinstall has fixed it

CISSP, ITIL v3 Foundations, Security+, Linux+, Cloud+, Server+, Project+, Network+, A+, LPIC-1
Working on: CCENT

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  10 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Migration_Sherpa  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

H3||scr3am is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-21-2008, 11:19 AM
Procrastinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southwest Virginia
Posts: 3,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by H3||scr3am View Post
Thanks Hates driver uninstall reinstall has fixed it

All That Remains
As if this could change us,
Our roots are deeper than that.
Born and bred the masters of Ourselves,
And of our hearts.
Take the best of me and
Watch my world fall apart.
Still I remain steadfast in my heart
HatesFury is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-22-2008, 05:50 AM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: earth
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hey does reinstalling a default driver needs a cd or disc or watever? or it is saved on the com??

~PeAc3BoY...proof.gifsonic.gif~
Quote:
rolleyes.gifPeace for life! biggrin.gif
peaCeBoY is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-22-2008, 10:24 AM
Procrastinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southwest Virginia
Posts: 3,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by peaCeBoY View Post
hey does reinstalling a default driver needs a cd or disc or watever? or it is saved on the com??
If by default you mean the drivers windows comes loaded with, normally no, you do'nt need a CD. Just go into device manager and uninstall the device. Reboot and windows will automatically reinstall it (with a few prompts) using generic drivers.

All That Remains
As if this could change us,
Our roots are deeper than that.
Born and bred the masters of Ourselves,
And of our hearts.
Take the best of me and
Watch my world fall apart.
Still I remain steadfast in my heart
HatesFury is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off