Cat 6 Custom Cables - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 04-15-2008, 12:26 AM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
Fyrestorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Probably in my Hammock.
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Hey guys, i was just throwing some numbers together, for Running a 128 Person LAN Party. (yes yes, Call me insane i already know.) and i need Roughly 2,550 Meter's Of CAT6 Cable, unheaded. Anyone know in Australia Where i could possibly get that much in Bulk for a Price of under $1.50 a meter? Personally i would prefer it under $1. but I dont see that happening,

Suggestions anyone? oh, and some pretty colours would be nice. but doesn't matter. i'll probably coat it all with Clear neon anyway.
Fyrestorm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 04-15-2008, 12:30 AM
4.0ghz
 
h4rdcor3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: around
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
why do you need cat6? cat5e does gigabit and is a lot cheaper too. Sure they don't have quite as good of crosstalk filtering but they should suit your needs just fine.

*goes to check the price of a plane ticket to Australia


Chimp Challenge Participant 

h4rdcor3 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 04-15-2008, 12:33 AM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
Fyrestorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Probably in my Hammock.
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by h4rdcor3 View Post
why do you need cat6? cat5e does gigabit and is a lot cheaper too. Sure they don't have quite as good of crosstalk filtering but they should suit your needs just fine.

*goes to check the price of a plane ticket to Australia
Been using Cat5e but it has been playing up alot on my personal home network.



and somehow a return ticket from LA is cheaper then the cable prices im getting.
Fyrestorm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 04-15-2008, 12:38 AM
☰ Syrillian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 10,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 537
gigabit is silly for a LAN. Cat5e should be used if it'll save you anything. 1.50 a meter sounds like a bargain though. Good luck.

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

RonindeBeatrice is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 04-15-2008, 12:40 AM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
Fyrestorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Probably in my Hammock.
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonindeBeatrice View Post
gigabit is silly for a LAN. Cat5e should be used if it'll save you anything. 1.50 a meter sounds like a bargain though. Good luck.
Gigabit + Lan, because File Sharing, and 100mbps + 40people trying to get stuff? Fail.


http://www.fragfest.com.au they use gigabit on their overnighters. its insane.
Fyrestorm is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 04-15-2008, 12:49 AM
Professional GTA 4 Modder
 
G|F.E.A.D|Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Flagstaff AZ
Posts: 13,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 844
whats your address i want to come LOL. i wish. get basic cat5 wire it will do just fine and you will not even notice a difference between 5 and 6 except price.

G|F.E.A.D|Killa is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 04-15-2008, 12:50 AM
4.0ghz
 
h4rdcor3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: around
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
ahhh!!!! flights out of Des Moines, IA are gonna cost me around 1800! Guess that is one less person to hit up the party.

EDIT: Killa, meet up in LA?


Chimp Challenge Participant 

h4rdcor3 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 04-15-2008, 02:44 AM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
Fyrestorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Probably in my Hammock.
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Lol, Sydney >_>

Although, Starting Small, Currently Using a 24-Port Managed Switch by Netgear and some friends. usually around 8-12 people.

but seeing how all they like doing is Demolishing my download Cap I might have to Charge Entry.


Oh yeah, Fragfest is trying to Get a Venue for a 30hour Event over Anzac Weekend (25th&26th April) will be carnage with a 60person all on gigabit, but That's not happening because halls are booked and Schools canot be contacted... DAMN YOU HOLIDAYS FOR KIDS!
Fyrestorm is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 04-15-2008, 02:51 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 6,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 422
I had some good advice until you said Austrailia. Sorry man. I wish I did for the Aussie land. Otherwise, I'd advise monoprice.com


Kamtastic II Current Build Log

"I'm not going there to die. I'm going to see if I'm really alive."

Hidden Text Below! (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Yay and God said to Abraham, "you shall kill your first son Isaac." And Abraham said, "Whats that? I can't hear you. You'll have to speak into the microphone." And God said, "I'm sorry. Is this better; check check check check. Jerry pull out the high end i'm still getting some hiss back here.
KamuiRSX is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 04-15-2008, 02:57 AM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
Fyrestorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Probably in my Hammock.
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
yeah, sucks being down south... i swear im the only damn australian on every American Server i register at.
KamuiRSX likes this.
Fyrestorm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off