Grr my internet keeps cutting out. - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-24-2005, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ch13f121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 210
My internet is being really wierd...like trillian will just disconnect and reconnect, and counterstrike and when I'm surfing the web...I think, I'm not sure if its doing it to my browser, but I do know that on counterstrike my computer will act as if its about to time out, and then it'll be fine after that. but trillian will disconnect and reconnect, and it'll do this over and over again, anyone know why? I'm behind a router, and I think its my router that's causing it. If it is, how would I fix it.

After all these years I still haven't come up with something worthwhile to put in this area.
Ch13f121 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-24-2005, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ch13f121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 210
jesus its still doing it, I've enabled dmz hosting....I've cut my forwarded port off...I've powered down the modem and powered it back on, reset my router, powered down the router and turned it back on and I still am cutting in and out.

After all these years I still haven't come up with something worthwhile to put in this area.
Ch13f121 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-24-2005, 07:23 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: McHenry IL
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
you have cumcast... eer comcast? theres your problem, comcast cuts alot of people off if they play counterstrike
Madkat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 12-24-2005, 07:26 PM
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
are you using a router?
it could be the router timing out every 5 mins

Fixing my friend's computer $20
Building a new computer $1000
Telling my friend his computer might explode Priceless
There's some things money can't buy, for everything else theres NewEgg

X-Zenity is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-24-2005, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ch13f121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 210
yes I have a router, its a linksys BEFSR41, and if its timing out, how do I fix it?

my internet service is Charter communications

After all these years I still haven't come up with something worthwhile to put in this area.
Ch13f121 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 12-24-2005, 07:31 PM
4.0ghz
 
Some_Idiot2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lozz Anjaleze
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 203
I have Comcast, and I love it... Ok, do this: run the network wizzard, set it up as your computer is configured, run the setup wizzard on every computer on your network, and set them all up with the same settings (same group name, but different discription/computer name), then disable your windows firewall (if it isn't disabled allready. I had the same problem a couple of hours ago, and this fixed it.
Ch13f121 likes this.
Some_Idiot2 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 12-24-2005, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ch13f121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 210
ok, I guess I can test it out, I'm going to have to reset my router again soon, will I have to do the wizard again? Tomorrow I gotta unplug everything and switch over to my new desk.

After all these years I still haven't come up with something worthwhile to put in this area.
Ch13f121 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-27-2005, 09:45 AM
4.0ghz
 
mudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
if this topic is still not tooooo old, try this.

take your router out of the loop. go get your cable modem and hook it straight up to your computer. (if you're into security, there'll be a little risk for a bit). start playing, and if it is sitll disconnecting and stuff, try it on a different computer. if the other computer is still doing the same thing, call up those beeches over at your ISP and tell them to fix it or die.

mudd is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off