Cannot connect to www.google.com - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-10-2010, 05:52 AM - Thread Starter
 
Chris_483's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Sorry if this is in the wrong section.. Anyway.

This problem is very recent, a few hours ago without doing anything or modifying anything or touching anything, I couldn't load google.com anymore. It just gets stuck on "Connecting to www.google.com" and times out, it responds to ping but I just cannot load it in both Firefox OR IE. I've cleared cache/cookies/temp internet files etc, and looked for other "hosts" files on my PC but found nothing so I'm not sure whats wrong. I'm pretty positive it's not a malware problem because like I said, I haven't downloaded anything or gone to any suspicious websites since it stopped working. And all other websites are loading fine. Any ideas please? Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitteo go_quote.gif
Lmao. This is almost as bad as the guy who filled his case with water for watercooling. Cant find the link anymore...

Aumotocnic "An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"
Chris_483 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-10-2010, 05:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Munich
Posts: 18,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 823
Manually change your DNS to OpenDNS and post back.

Details here:

Quote:
208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220
Also, what ISP?

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)

Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

98uk is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-10-2010, 06:02 AM - Thread Starter
 
Chris_483's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex98uk View Post
Manually change your DNS to OpenDNS and post back.

Details here:



Also, what ISP?
I'm actually already using the openDNS servers as my ISP dns sucks. ISP is o2 broadband which is pretty much BE.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitteo go_quote.gif
Lmao. This is almost as bad as the guy who filled his case with water for watercooling. Cant find the link anymore...

Aumotocnic "An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"
Chris_483 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 06-10-2010, 06:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Munich
Posts: 18,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 823
Hmm... O2 and Be tend to be the best ISP's around. Try going back to your ISP's DNS addresses. Also, do a virus/malware sweep. Things like that have been known to block websites.
Chris_483 likes this.

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)

Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

98uk is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-10-2010, 06:06 AM
Live Life Living
 
SmokinWaffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kent, South East UK
Posts: 11,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 435
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /registerdns
ipconfig /renew

Tried that in that order? I'm new to this network stuff too so I'm no expert, but it's worth a try, feel free to correct me if I made any huge error.
Chris_483 likes this.

♪ ❤ ♫

1 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge Participant 

SmokinWaffle is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-10-2010, 06:13 AM - Thread Starter
 
Chris_483's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex98uk View Post
Hmm... O2 and Be tend to be the best ISP's around. Try going back to your ISP's DNS addresses. Also, do a virus/malware sweep. Things like that have been known to block websites.
Gone back to default DNS, no luck. Will run a scan now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokinWaffle View Post
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /registerdns
ipconfig /renew

Tried that in that order? I'm new to this network stuff too so I'm no expert, but it's worth a try, feel free to correct me if I made any huge error.
Not working . Thanks both for the help so far though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitteo go_quote.gif
Lmao. This is almost as bad as the guy who filled his case with water for watercooling. Cant find the link anymore...

Aumotocnic "An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"
Chris_483 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-10-2010, 06:16 AM - Thread Starter
 
Chris_483's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Ok.. what the hell. It's decided to load again now for some reason. Dunno what the hell was up with it. Hopefully it doesn't decide to crap out on me again .

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitteo go_quote.gif
Lmao. This is almost as bad as the guy who filled his case with water for watercooling. Cant find the link anymore...

Aumotocnic "An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"
Chris_483 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-10-2010, 06:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Munich
Posts: 18,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 823
Perhaps it was the DNS change

EDIT: Actually, can't have been since Google works on OpenDNS for me. Maybe your ISP accidentally spammed it with info and it temp banned your IP?

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)

Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

98uk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off