Can't maintain a wireless connection - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-27-2010, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Me and my families 2 other laptops all disconnect from the router every 20-60minutes. After it disconnects the network status either reconnects itself after roughly 10 seconds or goes to "Unidentified Network" with limited access (cant go on internet at all). I then have to disconnect and connect to the network to resolve this issue temporarily. Sometimes it wont connect at all and I have to unplug router for 15 seconds to resolve it. This has been happening for as long as I can remember.

My PCI network card for my sig PC (< suffers the most disconnects) is a D-Link DWA-552 and my router is a D-Link WBR-2310. My sig rig has 3-5 bars reception at all times and is about 25-30 feet away from the router (same floor). My ISP is Rogers (Canadian) and I have 15mb/s download speed and 1mb/s upload.
Blazing_Javelin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-27-2010, 05:18 PM
Welcome Back, Commander.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 14,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Interesting.

Any massive downloading going on? Have you tried resetting the router and starting over from scratch?

Flick of the wrist.
mbudden is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-27-2010, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Would downloading crysis on Utorrent be considered a "massive download" (60kb/s), and no I haven't, I will try resetting it now.
Blazing_Javelin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 12-27-2010, 05:29 PM
Welcome Back, Commander.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 14,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Not really. 60kb/s isn't really much...
That wouldn't be it.

What about wireless landline phone? 2.4Ghz wireless land line phones can mess with the 2.4Ghz wireless routers.

Flick of the wrist.
mbudden is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-27-2010, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ya I have one like 20 feet away from the computer but it isn't used much and usually on its reciever (if that makes a difference)
Blazing_Javelin is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-29-2010, 08:51 AM
733mhz
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clutch City, USofA
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
location!

always maintain as much as possible a straight line of site for routers, adapters and access points. place routers and access points on higher places and away from RF interference and you are all set!

Mugenx is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off