[Official] NVIDIA GPU Mod Club - AKA "The Mod" - Page 397 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3961 of 8630 Old 04-19-2013, 03:18 AM
WaterCooler
 
Aesthethc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by mackelmore View Post

The h100 is overkill for a gpu, an h60 is fine and should do well

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

I have a choice of buying an H80i tomorrow or H100i, should i get the H80i and save my money? Why is it that the difference is so big between H80i and H100i when cooling a CPU but when cooling a GPU its different, isnt it sort of the same concept?

What can you say?

i7-3930k 4.5GHz | EVGA GTX 1080Ti | 1440p 144hz IPS | Cooled by EKWB

PU:BG & Twitch - FarmerMeoow
Aesthethc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3962 of 8630 Old 04-19-2013, 03:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rob Dylemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paps.pt View Post

You rig does look good, congrats! smile.gif Must be a quiet powerhorse while gaming... which fans are you using on the radiators?
Also noticed you dont use heatsinks on your VRS/Mosfets/Ram, are you thinking about buying some?

Cheers

She is quite a monster, thanks smile.gif

Specs:

Intel i7 3770k @ 4.6GHZ
ASUS MAximus V Formula ThunderFx Motherboard
16GB Corsair Vengaence 2133
2 x GTX670 (ASUS Direct CU II)
Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD
Corsair Force GS 360GB SSD
1Tb Western Digital Black 64Mb Cache
Blu-Ray Writer
NZXT Switch 810 case
Cpu Cooling - Corsair H100
GPU Cooling - Corsair H60's
1000W OCZ Fatality Series PSU

Fans throughout are Corsair SP140's or 120's ..... 120's on the H60's ( High static pressure editions )

I have Vram heatsinks on route smile.gif .... but i also have a Corsair SP140 pointed at both the cards so should be ok for the time being.... the cards are not overclocked either. smile.gif
Rob Dylemma is offline  
post #3963 of 8630 Old 04-19-2013, 06:42 AM
PC Gamer
 
Aparition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesthethc View Post

I have a choice of buying an H80i tomorrow or H100i, should i get the H80i and save my money? Why is it that the difference is so big between H80i and H100i when cooling a CPU but when cooling a GPU its different, isnt it sort of the same concept?

What can you say?

My guess is that a CPU cores function variably. So you have different levels of heat output, so a bigger rad is better able to handle the fast changes in heat output.
A GPU has basically 3 stages, idle, 2d, and 3d. The level of heat could be seen as just cool and hot (on/off). Both radiators can handle the wattage either a CPU or GPU output, but a smaller rad can handle a GPU wattage ouput just fine which makes a larger rad "overkill".

It is all about wattage control. GPU's my guess is you just have to worry about the maximum wattage output.
My guess anyways...
Aesthethc likes this.
Aparition is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3964 of 8630 Old 04-19-2013, 04:38 PM
 
Adriaensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Halen, Belgium
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesthethc View Post

I have a choice of buying an H80i tomorrow or H100i, should i get the H80i and save my money? Why is it that the difference is so big between H80i and H100i when cooling a CPU but when cooling a GPU its different, isnt it sort of the same concept?

What can you say?

Got a H100 on the top card, H80 on the bottem one.

they cool equaly good (2-5% difference MAX)

Only thing is: H100 had the bigger 240mm rad u need to tuck away somewhere. the H80 only had a thic 120mm rad.
rads are the same on the 'i' versions
Aesthethc likes this.
Adriaensen is offline  
post #3965 of 8630 Old 04-19-2013, 05:29 PM
WaterCooler
 
Aesthethc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adriaensen View Post

Got a H100 on the top card, H80 on the bottem one.

they cool equaly good (2-5% difference MAX)

Only thing is: H100 had the bigger 240mm rad u need to tuck away somewhere. the H80 only had a thic 120mm rad.
rads are the same on the 'i' versions

2-5% difference ? Damn, its that small? okay im gonna go with the H80i. Thank you everyone for all your help!

i7-3930k 4.5GHz | EVGA GTX 1080Ti | 1440p 144hz IPS | Cooled by EKWB

PU:BG & Twitch - FarmerMeoow
Aesthethc is offline  
post #3966 of 8630 Old 04-19-2013, 08:14 PM
 
Adriaensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Halen, Belgium
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesthethc View Post

2-5% difference ? Damn, its that small? okay im gonna go with the H80i. Thank you everyone for all your help!

http://uk.hardware.info/comparisontable/426999/adriaensen/cpu-coolers-comparison-table-10

As you can see, the difference between a H100 and a H80 is not big at all.

The difference between the newer models is bigger.
Adriaensen is offline  
post #3967 of 8630 Old 04-20-2013, 12:14 AM
WaterCooler
 
Aesthethc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Hey guys so.... i realized my bracket from dwood originally for my 560Ti PCB doesnt fit on the PCB of my 670FTW... has anyone successfully ziptie- modded an H80i (the second generation) corsair CPU coolers to a a graphics card? Im ordering a bracket from dwood but i dont know how long that will take.... so i will attempt a zip-tie mod for now...

i7-3930k 4.5GHz | EVGA GTX 1080Ti | 1440p 144hz IPS | Cooled by EKWB

PU:BG & Twitch - FarmerMeoow
Aesthethc is offline  
post #3968 of 8630 Old 04-20-2013, 04:37 AM
WaterCooler
 
Aesthethc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 104
So i attempted the ziptie mod with the H80i and i found it impossible on trying to ziptie down the H80i perfectly without a mounting bracket, i would get as low as 30C on idle but as high as 90C (yikes) on load. I tried two reseats, one without a copper shim and one with a copper shim, both i couldnt get a solid contact with the zipties alone... maybe i need to try more zipties that are small enough to fit through the PCB holes, and have more ridges for extra grip...

Can anyone show me how to mod an H80i onto a 600 series video card without using a dwood bracket (waiting in the mail for it). I absolutely hate the loud blower fan on load, so i decided to ghetto-mod/ziptie some fans onto my stock aluminum heatsink that came with the video card (originally designed for blower style fan).... and surprisingly out of humor.... its lower than stock temp on load. its right around stock temps, but maybe 5C colder than usual. Lol!

Im seriously laughing right now, i felt so frustrated trying to ziptie the h80i with no success; i seriously thought this wouldnt be as successful as i thought it would be. Some help me mount this H80i! So i dont have to do this anymore! (until i get my bracket)

Talk about ghetto thumb.gif Its ghetto, but its a lot quieter than the blower at full load so its worth it.

i7-3930k 4.5GHz | EVGA GTX 1080Ti | 1440p 144hz IPS | Cooled by EKWB

PU:BG & Twitch - FarmerMeoow
Aesthethc is offline  
post #3969 of 8630 Old 04-20-2013, 10:21 AM
 
Rlong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Just changed to a H80i unit on my Titan from the smaller Artic unit (and got an additional 15deg C drop), thought it might help if I show you how I did it. I had previously tried the cable tie mod but it's a hard thing to get right on a H80i.

Basically I used the AMD CPU mounting bracket that came with the kit, and just drilled two additional holes in the bracket that clips onto the H80i pump to match the card mounting points. Then just used the original Corsair AMD mounting bracket with some long small bolts to secure the unit.

20130420121501.jpg

20130420121515.jpg

20130420121549.jpg
Aesthethc likes this.
Rlong is offline  
post #3970 of 8630 Old 04-20-2013, 12:58 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
cravinmild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 4,777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Well done thumb.gif Those hoses are much larger than the H70 I am currently using. That is an amazing temp reduction moving to the H80i. Wonderful pics too

I think I may also switch out to a new pump unit. The H70 has developed at gargle noise I find utterly distracting. The h70 hoses are so short that ive had to run one of the hoses between the motherboard and the card. It helps give me some extra length but has also squished that one waterline. When the card is snapped into the motherboard there is not a large gap remaining for waterlines lol. Do you think that those H80 lines are long enough to run directly out the back of the card and mount the rad to the HDD cage wall?

cravinmild is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off